Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:19 PM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 178
Default High end orchestra plugin?

Hi guys,

does anyone know about a very good sounding high end quality orchestra instruments plugin? I wanna create some kinda movie soundtrack music :).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2009, 01:32 PM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

This is a very good, comprehensive and reasonably priced library from Project Sam:

http://www.projectsam.com/Products/Symphobia/

It's got standard orchestra ensembles, but also some useful textures like ethnic flutes, etc...
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2009, 03:45 PM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

check out the Vienna Stuff

east west also has some real high ends.
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2009, 05:58 PM
gdugan gdugan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utica, New York, US
Posts: 344
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

You won't regret Vienna Instruments Special Edition.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2009, 05:59 PM
Larold Larold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 217
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

East West Platinum strings are used on every film and TV show I mix.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2009, 09:47 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

I 2nd both Vienna & East West... Like Vienna better myself tho just because I have more control of it...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:34 PM
smpkeys smpkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 191
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

Hey Vienna guys - are you using Vienna Ensemble for multiple instruments, or using several instances (and tracks) for each? I just did a song doing the latter, and I really had to have the buffer size high (like 512 when I had about 6 Vienna tracks going).

Is it better to use the Vienna Ensemble?
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz 6 Core Xeon,32 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.5, PT 12.4, RME Fireface UFX, Command 8, Mytek 8x192, SSD evo on System,Audio&Samples on spinner drives WD SATA 64mb Cache
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:55 AM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 178
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

OK, I´m looking into these three closer right now:

http://www.thomann.de/gb/east_west_s...old_plugin.htm

http://www.thomann.de/gb/east_west_s...a_platinum.htm

http://www.thomann.de/gb/east_west_s...platinum_b.htm

Can someone tell me what´s the diffrence between them? Especially the last two, which seem the same to me but the last one is more expensive? What does the platinum have what the gold one doesn´t?



As for the Vienna stuff, I found those two:

http://www.thomann.de/gb/vsl_vi90_sp...ition_sted.htm

http://www.thomann.de/gb/vsl_vi95_sp...on_plus_st.htm

Which one would be the one to start with? I also need something like the "USB Dongle" for that, could I also use my iLok? I´m afraid the answer will be no^^. But those are about the same principle right (Dongle and iLok)?


Also, those are VST plugins, I need RATS plugins, what do I do? I hope you can answer all these questions, so thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2009, 06:19 AM
Larold Larold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 217
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

RATS plug ins...I like that. It's what I am usually yelling at the screen.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-04-2009, 07:14 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: High end orchestra plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smpkeys View Post
Hey Vienna guys - are you using Vienna Ensemble for multiple instruments, or using several instances (and tracks) for each? I just did a song doing the latter, and I really had to have the buffer size high (like 512 when I had about 6 Vienna tracks going).

Is it better to use the Vienna Ensemble?
Hey Smp really ur supposed to use VE when doing multiples of Vienna actually...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mastering Plugin Needed - not high end! Johnrg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 04-29-2009 01:46 PM
HD for orchestra library? villagesound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-30-2009 10:29 PM
Best Virtual Orchestra wernerbachmüller Virtual Instruments 1 10-14-2006 06:41 AM
Garritan Personal Orchestra Vs Symphonic Orchestra Re_Org General Discussion 0 08-02-2004 06:57 AM
orchestra goeperd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-08-2000 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com