Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:17 AM
bigcow bigcow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Warwick
Posts: 127
Default MP3 Option

I just reinstalled PTLE 7.3 on my new computer (Apple Dual 2.7 GHz PowerPC G5/OS 10.4.11)
and visited the Digistore to access the MP3 option I purchased last year and my receipt and
authorization code are there but the installer is no longer available to download.

Please advise on how I can reactivate this option.

Thanks.
__________________
ProTools LE 8.0.3
iMac
Dual 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
4 GB RAM
1 TB Seagate External HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2008, 08:38 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: MP3 Option

The mp3 option should be available under a custom install of 7.3. Run the PT 7.3 installer again but uncheck everything you've already got and check the mp3 option. You might want to remove any existing mp3 Codecs first.

Here's a link for the mp3 guide,

mp3 option guide

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2008, 09:20 AM
bigcow bigcow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Warwick
Posts: 127
Default Re: MP3 Option

Thanks. I removed the mp3 codecs and it installed successfully.
When I select the mp3 drop down in either bounce or export and
then hit export, all I get is a blank PT dialog box with an OK button.
Nothing happens.
__________________
ProTools LE 8.0.3
iMac
Dual 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
4 GB RAM
1 TB Seagate External HD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2008, 11:09 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: MP3 Option

MP3 option is not allowing me to authorize (Authorize tab is greyed out), since upgrading to Pro Tools 7.0.

Authorizing MP3 Option for Pro Tools Mac OS X

Remove the MP3 folder from the Mac HD\Applications\Digidesign\Pro Tools\Codecs folder
Trash all databases and preferences (move the Digidesign Databases folder located on the root level of all drives mounted on the computer to the trash; also, in the Mac HD\Users\(Your User - House Icon)\Library\Preferences folder, delete the com.digidesign.ProTools(LE).plist, DAE prefs folder, DigiSetup.OSX, and Pro Tools V.x(LE) Preferences files).
Empty the trash from the Finder menu.
Run the Pro Tools installer from your current Pro Tools version's installation file or CD and choose ONLY the MP3 Update (not the Demo). This should place the MP3.bundle back into the MP3 folder in your Codecs folder. If it does not, restart and run the installer again.
Update your PACE files and launch Pro Tools (see link below)
Once you choose to bounce as an MP3, you should see the correct Authorize window (make sure you have your code ready - if you choose to cancel, you'll have to restart and relaunch Pro Tools to authorize again).


http://www.myspace.com/philogg

http://www.paceap.com/dldrvr.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2008, 11:31 AM
bigcow bigcow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Warwick
Posts: 127
Default Re: MP3 Option

Thanks. But I saw this posting earlier and
followed the directions. Still no go.
The thing is, I've had the option for
a year and a half and have been using
it with PT LE 7.3

The only thing I didn't do is update my PACE
files. Not sure what that is.

Please advise.

Thanks.
__________________
ProTools LE 8.0.3
iMac
Dual 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
4 GB RAM
1 TB Seagate External HD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2008, 10:02 PM
WinstonPaul WinstonPaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: MP3 Option

about MP3 option ... somebody knows if it is available in PL7.4, when U just downloded the new version?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:17 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: MP3 Option

It's available from the Digi store.


http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2008, 02:08 PM
bigcow bigcow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Warwick
Posts: 127
Default Re: MP3 Option

Followed the instructions from tech support below plus everyone else's instructions in this
thread and still getting a blank PT dialog box with only an OK button
when either export or bounce is selected for the mp3 format.

I purchased the option in March 2006 and have been using it
with no problem until I upgraded my computer from a G4 running
10.4.11 to a G5 running the same OS. This is getting very frustrating.

Any suggestions?





Remove the MP3 folder from the Mac HD\Applications\Digidesign\Pro
Tools\Codecs folder
Trash all databases and preferences (move the Digidesign Databases
folder located on the root level of all drives mounted on the
computer to the trash; also, in the Mac HD\Users\(Your User - House
Icon)\Library\Preferences folder, delete the
com.digidesign.ProTools(LE).plist, DAE prefs folder, DigiSetup.OSX,
and Pro Tools V.x(LE) Preferences files).
Empty the trash from the Finder menu.
Run the Pro Tools installer from your current Pro Tools version's
installation file or CD and choose ONLY the MP3 Update (not the
Demo). This should place the MP3.bundle back into the MP3 folder in
your Codecs folder. If it does not, restart and run the installer
again.
Update your PACE files and launch Pro Tools (see link below)
Once you choose to bounce as an MP3, you should see the correct
Authorize window (make sure you have your code ready - if you choose
to cancel, you'll have to restart and relaunch Pro Tools to authorize
again).
__________________
ProTools LE 8.0.3
iMac
Dual 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
4 GB RAM
1 TB Seagate External HD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mp3 option simplemix Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-22-2007 02:02 PM
MP3 Option-Demo Expired-No option for aut. code desdichadisimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-10-2006 01:24 PM
HD with AV Option XL digiengineer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-18-2002 07:24 PM
AV Option or AV Option XL with Transoft Fibre potatohead Post - Surround - Video 5 08-06-2001 10:24 AM
AV Option Fan required for AV Option|XL too? Samhein Post - Surround - Video 3 08-29-2000 05:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com