Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2000, 11:20 AM
Samhein Samhein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Posts: 526
Default AV Option Fan required for AV Option|XL too?

Digi,

Is the AV Option Fan kit required for both AV Option & AV Option|XL cards installed in the Magma / Digidesign Expansion chassis?

If so, Digidesign should consider renaming the product to AV Fan Kit. Please advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2000, 11:30 AM
Samhein Samhein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Posts: 526
Default Re: AV Option Fan required for AV Option|XL too?

Well? Is it or is it not required when using AV Option XL in the new Digidesign 13-slot expansion chassis?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2000, 03:05 PM
AvidCS's Avatar
AvidCS AvidCS is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: AV Option Fan required for AV Option|XL too?

Sorry we didn't answer this on the weekend.

Directly from the online compatibility documents;

>>Important Cooling Issue: If you install the AVoption|XL PCI board (Meridien Digital Media Board) in either the Digidesign or Magma chassis, you must install the additional cooling fan, (Digidesign part number MC201) in the chassis.<<

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2000, 05:45 AM
Don Barto Don Barto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Timonium, MD, USA
Posts: 313
Default Re: AV Option Fan required for AV Option|XL too?

I am using AV Option boards in a Magma 7-slot chassis with the fan kit. Would it be a good idea to also run the Magma with to top cover removed -- more air circulation? Or is the risk of more dust a consideration ...
__________________
iMac 2.66 GHz (8.1) 320 4 GB RAM
OS 10.6.5
500 GB Western Digital My Book Studio FW 800
Pro Tools 9.0
002
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MP3 option ILOK required? The Saxplayer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-21-2006 04:34 AM
Quicktime Required for MP3 Option with 7.0?! yarrick19 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-05-2006 09:27 AM
Format Procedure for DigiDrive + AV Option|XL Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-23-2001 10:22 AM
Type 2 Crashes with AV Option|XL Samhein Post - Surround - Video 16 12-21-2000 05:29 PM
AV option | XL AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-08-2000 12:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com