Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2010, 04:48 AM
roubignolle roubignolle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kinshasa, DRC
Posts: 42
Default Optimal video parameters for Pro Tools

Hello,

I used to use PT LE 7.4 with a PC and when I was importing video, I always converted them to .mov using an MPEG4 codec, with a low quality. And it was working fine. I am now on Macbook pro with PTMP 8 and with those video parameters, I can't import the video into pro tools. I wanted to know what was the optimal parameters for the video in pro tools? I don't have DVtool kit (is it compatible with PTMP?)

Thanks for your help.

edit : here is the message PT gives me : "can't import the selected video file because it does not contain any video frames" the name of the file is : ep17lqasynch.mov so it is not the name I think...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:06 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,711
Default Re: Optimal video parameters for Pro Tools

Most people use DV codec. Also if you have a box like Canopus 110, a DV is the only codec which will play out of FireWire port.
If you have a Mojo it's a bit of different story.
Search the forum - there was ALLOT written here about this topic.
Also read the manual - it's a great source for such basic things.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.12 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:20 AM
roubignolle roubignolle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kinshasa, DRC
Posts: 42
Default Re: Optimal video parameters for Pro Tools

Hello, thanks for your answer. I just don't understand why, there's no problem with importing on PC with PTLE7.4 (I just did with the same video) but it doesn't work with mac and PTMP8!
Believe me, i'm searching searching...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:50 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: Optimal video parameters for Pro Tools

What program created your mp4 movie? Assuming the movie plays in QuickTime, can you export it using QuickTimePro as a new self-contained movie?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2010, 06:06 AM
roubignolle roubignolle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kinshasa, DRC
Posts: 42
Default Re: Optimal video parameters for Pro Tools

I can't open it with quicktime but I can with VLC...
I was using AVS video converter on the pc, but wich one can I use on the mac?
I think it comes from the mac because I installed PTLE7.4 (the same one as the one I have on the PC) on a bootcamp partition, and I have the same problem, same error message... Must be a compatibility problem...
I am still searching....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2010, 07:45 AM
roubignolle roubignolle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kinshasa, DRC
Posts: 42
Default Re: Optimal video parameters for Pro Tools

Ok, I found a solution, I converted again the video using the same parameters. I just changed the codec and instead of MPEG4, I choosed Sorenson Video 1, and it worked. It seems that mac doesn't like the MPGEG4 codec (video not importable on snow leopard with PTMP8 and on bootcamp/XP SP3/PTLE7.4 but importable on a PC with XP SP3 with PTLE7.4.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimal setup for Macbook Pro + Pro Tools 10? Q2F macOS 3 03-13-2012 06:09 PM
What are the absolute best video parameters for PT drguitar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-22-2004 08:20 PM
What are the absolute best video parameters for PT drguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-20-2004 06:21 PM
Optimal mastering EQ? Is a flat curve optimal? j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-30-2003 04:47 PM
Optimal recording levels for Pro Tools? QuikDraw Tips & Tricks 47 11-28-2001 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com