Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2011, 04:28 PM
ericsvizeny ericsvizeny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 251
Default Drum Programming Question

Hello,

I'm drum programing using MIDI in Pro Tools 8. And I use Kontakt with Steven Slate Drums. I'm basically creating every note of a live recorded drum kit and translating it into pro tools. I'm trying to keep it to the grid, but some parts just don't work with midi, meaning they just dont sound right. Does anyone have any tips?

Thanks!
Eric Svizeny
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2011, 02:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,072
Default Re: Drum Programming Question

The first tip is, try to think like a drummer(IOW, don't program something that a real drummer wouldn't or couldn't play). Next thing, if you are trying to lay down a triplet fill, but the grid is set to straight time, the grid will force things to NOT sound right(just the nature of how the grid works).

How are you inputing your midi notes? If you are doing it all with the pencil tool......OMG, how tough that must be! I use an M-Audio Trigger Finger and it works really well as I can tap out like on any good drum machine(good drum machine.....is that an oxymoron). I also set up a custom pad page with each sound for snare and toms are assigned to dual pads. That way, I can actually tap in complicated rolls and they actually sound good(I use SD2, but the Slate drums should work much the same). Akai makes a similar unit and even the cheap Korg Nano-Pad would likely get the job done.

Also, I try to NOT use input quantize as it can totally remove any feel(real drums don't always hit right on the grid). Sometimes I will quantize things and then go thru and move random notes slightly off the grid, depending on how they mesh with other instruments.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2011, 05:15 PM
ericsvizeny ericsvizeny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Drum Programming Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
The first tip is, try to think like a drummer(IOW, don't program something that a real drummer wouldn't or couldn't play). Next thing, if you are trying to lay down a triplet fill, but the grid is set to straight time, the grid will force things to NOT sound right(just the nature of how the grid works).

How are you inputing your midi notes? If you are doing it all with the pencil tool......OMG, how tough that must be! I use an M-Audio Trigger Finger and it works really well as I can tap out like on any good drum machine(good drum machine.....is that an oxymoron). I also set up a custom pad page with each sound for snare and toms are assigned to dual pads. That way, I can actually tap in complicated rolls and they actually sound good(I use SD2, but the Slate drums should work much the same). Akai makes a similar unit and even the cheap Korg Nano-Pad would likely get the job done.

Also, I try to NOT use input quantize as it can totally remove any feel(real drums don't always hit right on the grid). Sometimes I will quantize things and then go thru and move random notes slightly off the grid, depending on how they mesh with other instruments.
Thanks man! Great post!

Eric
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drum programming question... MikeyBLial Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 01-08-2012 11:29 AM
Drum Programming ericsvizeny Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-24-2011 08:43 AM
Drum Programming in PT potex Tips & Tricks 8 04-14-2006 12:45 PM
Drum Programming FatBelly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-26-2004 10:30 AM
basic drum programming question Paul_m 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-21-2003 03:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com