Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 02-10-2002, 10:07 PM

Default Compress Master Fader before deciding on individual fader\'s plugins?

I know I may get pointed to do a 'Search' on Compression, but still as a matter of personal preference, do any of you guys WAIT to see how say, a c4 on the Master will affect the mix beFORE putting compressors or other plugins on individual faders?

I ask, because I often hear about using a compressor on the master(I do it too sometimes). Yet, how does it affect the compressor you used and tweaked on say, the cymbals?

Does anyone, like me, sometimes use the Master JUST to fade overall volume?

I'm still learning all I can, so thanks...

Roy
Old 02-10-2002, 10:27 PM

Default Re: Compress Master Fader before deciding on individual fader\'s plugins?

A lot of your question greatly depends on your tracks them selves. For me, I like to use the L1 ( soon the L2 ) and a C4 at the master out just like you. Many times that is all I need because I will add the right amount of compression to my tracks as I'm recording them.
If I have say a vocal or a bass line that is a little to dynamic I will compress those tracks at their on in-puts , but not a lot. I leave room for the master fader and the L1/C4 combo to finish the over all job.
As you may know, compression is to be used in moderation. It can make or break you.
You mentioned the C4. It sounds like you have some Waves stuff. Many of us here like Waves. If you don't have an external compressor to use while laying down your tracks, you may want to consider one.I use a dbx DDP that I scored at a pwan shop for $200. new, and it works real nice.
Hope that helps.
Old 02-10-2002, 10:52 PM