Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:09 PM
vboombatz vboombatz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Default Leopard info

Digi staff,

Your last communiqué on the topic was 3/5. Could you please provide an update?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:49 PM
leonardrock leonardrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 80
Default Re: Leopard info

+1

Nearly 30 days since....
__________________
MacBookPro 2.4 ghz, 10.8.3, 4 gb, M-Audio FW-410, ProFire 2626, PTLE 10.3.2, Glyph GT 050Q
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2008, 05:12 PM
Jussi Jussi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 180
Default Re: Leopard info

Well that was the one week Digi has been active.
__________________
mp (8x2,8ghz 8gb) mbp (c2d 2,53ghz 4gb) osx10.6.3 pt8.0.3 mptk2 mbox2
www.myspace.com/pukspace
eSoundz name: jus11
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2008, 08:18 PM
vboombatz vboombatz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: Leopard info

Dear Digi,
I'm politely asking for a little info. No rants, slams, or whine.
Some candor might go a long way.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2008, 12:29 AM
iMartin iMartin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 134
Default Re: Leopard info

I feel it will take just as long time until we can use PT under Leopard that it took OS X to mature enough to use it in professional audio work :-/

But I feel the frustration too, I have a Powerbook 1.25Ghz with tiger that hardly can do serious sessions and a mac pro with Leopard waiting to do some heavy lifting. Right now I do that with Logic Pro instead

Let go that it will take time to fix the problems with PT but couldn´t DIGI release a Leopard-compatible version of core audio driver? It would make at least the hardware useful in Leopard for now...
__________________
PT9 HD3
Mac Pro 2.88 quad, 32 GB
Control24

Apogee Duet 2
Macbook pro i5 2.5GHZ, 10GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2008, 06:52 AM
tpthai2 tpthai2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 112
Default Re: Leopard info

Many of us are in the specific situation of having a new MacPro waiting for the Leopard LE
update. Some, like me, with projects scheduled. We know Digi is working on it but yes, it would
be a good thing to simply drop a note to your loyal customers Digi. Don't forget Digi, we are with you, loyal to the product and the best sales force you will ever have.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2008, 09:37 AM
PD3 PD3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London
Posts: 9
Default Re: Leopard info

I got the standalone hardware driver 7.4 working for the Digi 002 and Logic Express on the second install in Leopard 10.5.2. Don't know why it didn't work first time but very stable now as long as no other apps that require it are running before booting Logic.

Impressed with Logic's handling of CPU on MacBook Pro. Especially after error messages every few minutes from PT on Powerbook G4. Digi must be losing a lot of people to Logic, particularly new Mac buyers. I'm nearly one of them.

News please Digi on ETA of Leopard LE?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2008, 11:56 AM
mjteix mjteix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 185
Default Re: Leopard info

If anything, I'd like to know if Digi is actually trying to make PT LE work on a current version of Leopard (10.5.0/.1/.2) and if so which one, or, as we've been told Digi is working WITH Apple on that, on a new version of Leopard 10.5.3/.4/.5... We know Apple has been seeding builds of 10.5.3 already.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2008, 12:13 PM
amil333 amil333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Leopard info

I would say, hang tight until this Monday the 7th. It's a decent guess (thanks to someone on this forum) that we may see something because McDSP announced they will be releasing Leopard compatible versions of their plugins for HD and LE on that day. They actually said the would release them "BY the 7th" in an email sent to registered users (such as myself), which also may indicate that they expect Digi to release something that day.

But it's just a wild guess. I'm gonna wait to see what happens next week. If it's still tumbleweeds blowin' around, I may also check out Logic for a bit.

Amil
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2008, 03:40 PM
nedorama nedorama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 649
Default Re: Leopard info

I don't know if McDSP's announcement is all that meaningful - AAS has released Leopard-compatible updates for their line (Tassman, Lounge Lizard) and yet not tied to the PTLE update. Same with URS, Waves, etc. Unfortunately, not Native Instruments...
I think plugins that are multi-platform (RTAS, VST, AU) are updating, and whether or not RTAS leopard compatibility is updated significantly I don't know. But I won't be holding my breath until Monday.

It would be nice to have a monthly update from Digi on this to comment on progress; as much as can be shared would be appreciated. I'm waiting for the announcement of Leopard compatibility to upgrade to a new Mac Pro.
__________________
Regards,
Ned
Monkey Boy Studios
2019 16" MBP, 32GB, 1TB SSD; OSX 10.15.7; 4TB USB-C G-Tech External
Summit Audio 2BA-221, TLA-50 -->Focusrite 18i20 3rd Gen, Eleven Rack, Pro Tools 2021.3
Plugins, Virtual Instruments, and real ones
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Native Instruments Akoustik & Elektrik Piano Compatibility on Leopard & Snow Leopard DigiTechSupt Virtual Instruments 0 01-07-2010 11:08 AM
Snow Leopard & Pro Tools 8, Info Soon? Griffin23 General Discussion 1 08-30-2009 06:11 PM
New(er) info from Digi on Leopard compatibility GunnyT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-07-2008 05:15 PM
PTLE 7.4 problems?Leopard progress, test results and info... spaceagedevice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-26-2007 09:06 AM
Curious about info required, a way to obtain info in mail bo andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-21-2007 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com