Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2021, 06:08 PM
Thenewexhibit Thenewexhibit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 408
Default 2020 compatibility to v12?

Hello! I have Pro Tools 2020.12.0 on a new computer. I love it! Feels snappier and looks great!

I started working on a session that I started in 12.5.2 on an old system, and now I'm working on it in 2020 on a new system. If I save it in 2020, will this open in 12.5.2 if I have to use my old system?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2021, 06:30 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,564
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

No problems, all the way back to PT10. Its the same file format for 10 thru the current versions. 9 and older would require some extra steps, but you are totally safe(sessions can also move between Windows and Mac with zero troubles in all recent versions).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2021, 06:34 PM
Thenewexhibit Thenewexhibit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 408
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
No problems, all the way back to PT10. Its the same file format for 10 thru the current versions. 9 and older would require some extra steps, but you are totally safe(sessions can also move between Windows and Mac with zero troubles in all recent versions).
Awesome! Thank you! I imagine if I used something like folder tracks or something, it just wouldn't show up in the PT 12 session?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2021, 12:21 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,424
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thenewexhibit View Post
Awesome! Thank you! I imagine if I used something like folder tracks or something, it just wouldn't show up in the PT 12 session?
Hey

Sorry I missed that question on the other thread but as you thought features in 2020.X will just be left out in the PT12 session

Otherwise as said above the sessions will work between those versions.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2021, 12:47 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thenewexhibit View Post
Awesome! Thank you! I imagine if I used something like folder tracks or something, it just wouldn't show up in the PT 12 session?
The tracks within Folder tracks will show as normal tracks when you go to an older version of Pro Tools, you don't lose them so you're fine.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2021, 01:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,139
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
The tracks within Folder tracks will show as normal tracks when you go to an older version of Pro Tools, you don't lose them so you're fine.
Yea, but the other way is not so certain. My guess is folder tracks are lost when you save in PT12 and open in PT2020
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2021, 01:49 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,424
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yea, but the other way is not so certain. My guess is folder tracks are lost when you save in PT12 and open in PT2020
Thats my believe aswell. Was a long tile since we used PT12 ... Time flies hehe. So haven’t had those questions for some time but I would think if the filder tracks doesn’t appear anyway in PT12 then a save would save as is and I assume that opening up the saved PT12 session in PT2020.X would not include the foleers anyway. Just a planning issue for the OP and you could just skip folder tracks on the sessions he know will be used on both versions or something. He could just freeze the tracks but if that feature is not in 12.5.2 then thats a bust too.

I know he knows that folder tracks won’t work anyway in PT12 so he will have to plan that accordingly.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2021, 02:53 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yea, but the other way is not so certain. My guess is folder tracks are lost when you save in PT12 and open in PT2020
Yes, I didn't say about that. Basically in the session file there's the tracklist and the folder tracks list that maps tracks to folder tracks. When an older version of Pro Tools opens the session file it reads the tracklist but it knows nothing about folder tracks and the map of tracks to folder tracks so it ignores that - you lose no tracks from the newer version session file but you get no folder tracks obviously. Going Forwards, if you re-save over a session file that has folder tracks with an older version of Pro Tools that map is lost as, once again, it knows nothing about folder tracks and just writes the tracklist.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2021, 05:25 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 846
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

Routing Folders get converted back into Auxes, Basic folders disappear. Neither come back when re-opening a session in a folder enabled version after opening in an older version.
__________________
Scott Gatteρo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2021, 06:50 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,139
Default Re: 2020 compatibility to v12?

Yea, that is what documentation says but I myself have not tried transfer to and from 12 and 2020
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 2020.9.1 Requires Compatibility Check every bootup josoro505 Pro Tools 2020 0 10-28-2020 06:07 PM
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 07:46 AM
Pro Tools 12 Compatibility with PT 2020.5 skipburz Pro Tools 2020 4 06-24-2020 04:35 PM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
Eucon 19.9 Compatibility with 2020 Antigua Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com