Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2012, 10:15 AM
busk busk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Hopatcong
Posts: 13
Default How do I transfer session files mac to mac

Currently we have pro tools installed on a mac at the office. I've bought an iMac and want to set things up at home. How do I get the session files (ptf's) to my computer so I can work on them at home. The mac at the studio under no circumstances goes on the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2012, 10:31 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,692
Default Re: How do I transfer session files mac to mac

Put your sessions on an approved firewire drive and just carry the drive back and forth.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2012, 11:02 AM
shisty shisty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Port Richey, FL, USA
Posts: 20
Default Re: How do I transfer session files mac to mac

You can also store them on a USB flash drive. Transfer takes forever, but it works pretty well for smaller sessions. Also, make sure you don't try to run the sessions from the flash drive/portable drive you store them on. I know that seems obvious, but I still gotta remind everyone.
__________________
Mac Mini (2010 Model - Aluminum)
4GB Ram
2.4 GHz Intel Core2 Duo
320 GB HD
2x 1TB Firewire 800 HD

MBOX 2
ProTools 8 LE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2012, 05:25 AM
busk busk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Hopatcong
Posts: 13
Default Re: How do I transfer session files mac to mac

Thanks.
I tried to do that. I put some sessions on both a usb drive and a disc. But when you bounce to disk, the files are converted to wav, aiff, . There's no option for ptf.
And if the files aren't in ptf format, I won't be able to work on them, right, just listen to them.
Or is there a way to do this without bouncing to disk?
The thing is, there's only one interface, one set of monitors, etc., so I can't check out what's on the usb without dismantling, moving and resetting up the equipment between the 2 locations.

I know it sounds a bit hairy. The big picture is that I want to eventually move all the recording equipment (except the office mac) from the office to home, but want to transfer sesssion files I'll need first to my mac.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2012, 05:43 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default

Yeah. Don't bounce to disc. Just copy the folder the contains the session to the drive. That's the quickest easiest if you're on the same version of pro tools.

If you do need to change versions do a "save copy in" and adjust settings as necessary. Also make sure to check the "copy audio files" box. Else you'll get home with a session but a bunch of missing audio.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:24 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 533
Default Re: How do I transfer session files mac to mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by busk View Post
...
The thing is, there's only one interface, one set of monitors, etc., so I can't check out what's on the usb without dismantling, moving and resetting up the equipment between the 2 locations.

I know it sounds a bit hairy. The big picture is that I want to eventually move all the recording equipment (except the office mac) from the office to home, but want to transfer sesssion files I'll need first to my mac.
Stating my assumption... you've posted in the LE forum, so you're running PT V8 or below. With V8 and below, you must run an Avid/Digidesign interface. If you only have one interface, there's no point moving any files.

Reading between the lines, I suspect you're on an internal drive at the office? That's OK, unless that internal is the Mac HD system drive. In any case, go get an approved external firewire drive, move the rig and the sessions in one shot.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer files from pc to mac os 9 ZipSnipe General Discussion 3 12-18-2013 04:23 AM
Best Way to Transfer PT Files Between HD justus1900 Storage Subsystems 7 05-02-2011 01:18 PM
Transfer .dmg files! baddy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-29-2009 09:52 PM
PC M-POWERED SESSION TRANSFER FILES TO MAC TDM QUESTION dave2005 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-22-2007 10:15 AM
transfer session files from OSX to XP? bayareafce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-09-2006 01:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com