Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2007, 09:53 PM
tim carter tim carter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 318
Default Buffering Issues revisited...

I originally started the Buffering Issue thread a while back and never really got anything solved... I'm still having the problem.. when it does happen I'm getting either error 6086 or 6093... has anyone found a fix for this... I'm running 002R, 7.3.1, G4 Dua 1.25l, 512 plus an additional 1 gig... increasing the buffer size does nothing to stop it..
__________________
Mac G5, 10.5.8, 2 GB, Rosetta 800 w/X-HD Card, Control24, HD2, PT's 8
http://carterbrothersband.com/studio.cfm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2007, 11:57 PM
George Whittam George Whittam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Buffering Issues revisited...

Have you tried installing a PCI Firewire card yet? I just tried that with a client's G5 and it solved the problems (errors, hardware not detected) immediately (at least for now.)
Funny, all the problems people are having with the DIGI 002 Rack I am reading on the forums and the solutions from Digidesign, I haven't seen a SINGLE suggestion to install a new firewire card.

George
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:58 AM
sky88dd sky88dd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 322
Default Re: Buffering Issues revisited...

Just wondering if the the installed firewire card will be used for the 002 or firewire hard dive?
Or does it matter?

Thanks!
__________________
PPC G5 Dual 2.0, 8.5G Ram
PT 8 cs2 OSX 10.5.8
MBP Core 2 Duo 2.16, 2G Ram
PT 8 cs2 OSX 10.5.8
Mbox 2 Pro, Mini, Micro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:39 PM
George Whittam George Whittam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Buffering Issues revisited...

I would keep the hard drive and the Digi 002 on separate firewire busses. Since putting the Digi002 o n the PCI card made it work, that'd be the way I'd go.

George
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:50 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Buffering Issues revisited...

Quote:
Funny, all the problems people are having with the DIGI 002 Rack I am reading on the forums and the solutions from Digidesign, I haven't seen a SINGLE suggestion to install a new firewire card.
It's in the compatibility pages actually, most people just don't bother reading those and post here instead. It really only applies to a couple of models of older PPC machines though, and since it seems the majority of folks are on Intel these days it doesn't come up too much. Since the OP has one of the models in question though, your suggestion is definitely a good one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2007, 04:19 PM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 379
Default Re: Buffering Issues revisited...

FWIW, I recently started a thread on powered FW hubs vs PCI cards to alleviate buffer errors. A local pro audio shop guy found a solution for his OWN rig with a powered FW hub rather than a PCI card, claiming that any improvement with the PCI card would be negligible (his own experience... he wasn't selling me anything). I ended up getting the ADS Pyro, a Digi "approved" card, for my single processor G5, just so the 002r would have its own bus, nothing else running on it, in as "approved" a setup as I can have except for my TC PowerCore FW. Can't say that it made a difference vs running it off the native FW bus in my machine alongside the PowerCore (so they both would be on one bus), but it didn't hurt either. So now I'm wondering if the hub WOULD have worked better (check my thread for theories on why). Still experiencing random -9136 or -6086 errors, and on couple of sessions, if I have the H/W buffer maxed and the "ignore RTAS errors" unchecked, I will lose sync and have to force quit the session; checking the "ignore RTAS errors" solves it, although pops and clicks of course happen. Replaced the ol' power harness this week... no improvement I could see, although the metal seemed to be a teeny tiny bit oxidized.
So...
Maybe a PCI card will improve your performance, but it hasn't helped me any. Hasn't HURT, but can't say it has helped.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
having H/W buffering issues ronald villegas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-09-2011 07:10 PM
12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues! thirdsouth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 06-29-2009 03:26 PM
Still-Buffering Issues tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 96 05-09-2007 08:10 PM
Buffering Issues and Pwr Harness? 002R tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-15-2007 09:56 PM
Buffering Help tonedef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-26-2006 06:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com