Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2013, 03:38 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default More iLok pain...

Will we ever be free from the scourge of iLok problems?

I got this email message from them...

"A routine check of our server logs on 2013-08-30 indicated that there is an issue with your iLok(s) listed below. Luckily it is something you can easily fix.

If you have not done a Sync/Repair operation or an activate or deactivate operation with iLok License Manager on the iLok(s) listed below since 2013-08-30, the instructions below should be followed as soon as possible."

It goes on to say that I need to do a Sync/Repair of the iLok.

Well, I'm doing that and it's been over an hour and the bar has not moved. And it warns me about stopping or removing my iLok. I'm screwed, aren't I??

The iLok is a constant source of fear. I HATE them with a passion.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2013, 03:59 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: More iLok pain...

Close to two hours, and still no movement. Sent a support request to iLok, and no response yet. Is there any safe way to interrupt this operation, and still have my licenses on my iLok? Looks like I won't be using PT11 tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2013, 05:33 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: More iLok pain...

Situation resolved, but too late, an had to cancel a session.

Moral... Latest iLok License Manager still cannot be trusted.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2013, 10:27 PM
BGMusic BGMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 433
Default Re: More iLok pain...

I’ve got a frozen operation on my ^&$#$^# ilok right now. It won’t load an authorization and it’s bleeping’ frozen in place. I don’t know what to do, I’m trying to get some work done. F this F’in thing. I F’in hate ILOK!!!!!
__________________
PT 10.3.10, 12.4, Logic Pro 9.1.8 Logic Pro X 10.1, Ableton Live 9, Studio One 3.x DP 9 Sibelius 8.5 OS 10.8.5 Mac Mini with Lion Server 2.0ghz quad I7 16 gbs ram, UAD Apollo Twin . PT Mix Plus PT 6.4.1 TDM Mac OS 10.3.9 G4 450 mhz 1 gb ram, Digi 882/20. And a bunch of hard drives.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2013, 05:55 AM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 713
Default Re: More iLok pain...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Blaske View Post
Moral... Latest iLok License Manager still cannot be trusted.
I run PT HD on both PCs with AMD processors as well as a Mac Pro Nehalem. Had a similar stall, about a month ago, during a sync/repair on the AMD PC, but on the Mac Pro the moves worked okay. I had been testing moving plug-in licenses back and forth between different iLoks prior to surrendering a 9HD license for the 11HD goodness. At that time the updated iLok software had aged a few months.

I recall just rebooting or shutting off the system after a few minutes. The licenses didn't get whacked, but even if they had, they were duplicates of inexpensive plug-ins, so it would not have been a catastrophe.

But it is worrisome that you had this issue on a 12-core Mac Pro. I figured it wasn't worth bellowing about a possible AMD issue.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2013, 07:55 AM
BGMusic BGMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 433
Default Re: More iLok pain...

These were mcdsp licenses there seems to be something strange about the way they work.
__________________
PT 10.3.10, 12.4, Logic Pro 9.1.8 Logic Pro X 10.1, Ableton Live 9, Studio One 3.x DP 9 Sibelius 8.5 OS 10.8.5 Mac Mini with Lion Server 2.0ghz quad I7 16 gbs ram, UAD Apollo Twin . PT Mix Plus PT 6.4.1 TDM Mac OS 10.3.9 G4 450 mhz 1 gb ram, Digi 882/20. And a bunch of hard drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Structure -- How much pain is the iLok? sberg Virtual Instruments 6 12-25-2012 10:55 PM
This is getting to be a serious pain!!! Whitehouse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-08-2008 10:37 AM
Is it just me or is the monitor arm a pain? johnnyv ICON & C|24 0 01-14-2006 03:12 PM
Pace's pain in the ass ! Down ILok ! Aquarius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-03-2003 10:33 AM
sorry to be a pain Laurence w schuberth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 32 04-18-2002 01:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com