Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 10-21-2011, 03:25 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,567
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwells View Post
I just want a freaking ASIO driver that works in Win7!!! focus on that Avid!
then why don't you go bother the actual maker of the drivers?

http://www.asio4all.com/

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwells View Post
Do you think I am stupid?
Don't ask if you don't want an answer.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 10-21-2011, 04:22 PM
dwells dwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ATL
Posts: 27
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

you do know that ASIO4ALL is a generic driver, one for pretty much all sound cards. and they don't make Avid's driver. you know this right?

I am forced to use ASIO4ALL instead of Avid's because this generic driver that also works for the $5 soundcard I can buy in the clearance bin, is more stable than Avid's crap driver. but because it's a generic driver it is unable to fully use the 003.

these are crap:

http://secure.digidesign.com/service...&localeCode=en

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...411&NewLang=en
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 10-21-2011, 04:46 PM
wescravn wescravn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 38
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

The Core Audio driver in OSX is a bag of hurt! It barely works.

At least windows users have ASIO4ALL.

If digi users an OPEN format, then all developers can quickly turn out QUALITY PLUGINS, and fast.

It's stupid to not support one of the Industry Standards now.

UAD works fine for me. I didn't have to pay $10K to great sounding native plugins, and UAD 3 will be on the roadmap shortly anyways.

I'd like AVID to spend less time on AMC and come out with a great protools (64bit), new audio engine, reliable, and seamless integration with all platforms.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2012, macOS 10.13
PT 12.8.2 - Apogee Duet 2
Apogee Ensemble, UAD 2, and plenty of plugins.

Last edited by wescravn; 10-21-2011 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Addition
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 10-21-2011, 05:11 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wescravn View Post
The Core Audio driver in OSX is a bag of hurt! It barely works.

At least windows users have ASIO4ALL.

If digi users an OPEN format, then all developers can quickly turn out QUALITY PLUGINS, and fast.

It's stupid to not support one of the Industry Standards now.

UAD works fine for me. I didn't have to pay $10K to great sounding native plugins, and UAD 3 will be on the roadmap shortly anyways.

I'd like AVID to spend less time on AMC and come out with a great protools (64bit), new audio engine, reliable, and seamless integration with all platforms.
Which CoreAudio driver?

I haven't had any problems with CoreAudio drivers since PT7.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 10-21-2011, 05:31 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
Hmm tell me, what happens when you use outboard gear, like many pros are doing in recording studios, and that you cant because you want to bounce offline??
Lots of pros out there perhaps using a bit of outboard on the way in, but going ITB from there with fantastic results. There are simply a lot of advantages to staying ITB on mix (total recall and the ability to automate anythings are big ones). Plug-in quality has come a LONG way.

Quote:
The option will come, there's bigger things that needed to be done first, and they are mostly done.
But other products have now had this for many years (and many other things that PT still doesn't have).
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 10-21-2011, 05:32 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wescravn View Post
The Core Audio driver in OSX is a bag of hurt! It barely works.
???

It's solid as a rock here.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 10-21-2011, 05:34 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 488
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

No problems with core audio here with a metric halo. Way better than dae with my 002r.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 10-21-2011, 08:58 PM
djrebelion djrebelion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Daly City CA
Posts: 20
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

It's totally obvious that Avid dropped the ball not right now but a while ago when they decided to not put there money on 64bit. Think about this though Freeze, Offline Bouncing, 32bit float uh is it me or is Avid late on a lot of things? The excuse that they are giving for not implementing 64bit is truly not a good excuse. They should have been working on 64bit ProTools years ago. You would expect a company this big grossing over 500 million a year to have a road map to at least reach 64bit by version 10 of it's flagship. I mean they should really fire someone high up. If TDM and RTAS is what is stopping this transition why not just dump it all together. Avid has been like apple for years anyway it's not like they ever really cared about switching things up and leaving there customers steamed aren't we steamed now paying 299 for a damn update? I mean 9 was a good idea but not executed. It's like they don't care about the quality they are putting out just add a couple features that should have been there already and get more money. I was highly upset earlier when I saw this 10 only because Avid hasn't even reached 9.1 yet. That just let's you know how much they value there product themselves $$$ If you had to pay for more testers and developers to make your customers happy then so be it. Avid is over priced anyway HD XD wetf that should be the same price as the uad cards gtf over yourselves really. The economy is bad enough in the U.S for this b.s. My dollar has value therefor my opinion and how I feel matters. 99.99 should have been the cost of this which should have been release as 9.1.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:06 PM
djrebelion djrebelion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Daly City CA
Posts: 20
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

Also I believe if there is a work around reaper ect. to use 64bit with PT then that's even worse because some other company comes up with a solution before you do. It's like they think we are complete idiots. I blame the die hard pro tools users who act like Avid does no wrong. Think about it homie said it would cost too much money ect. So then they must be staying 32bit. Fool me once that's shame on you! Fool me twice that's shame on me! HD Native should be like 699 lmao if that. Prolly cost like 50 bucks to make if that.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:10 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT 10 ...a disappointment?

Quote:
Originally Posted by djrebelion View Post
It's totally obvious that Avid dropped the ball not right now but a while ago when they decided to not put there money on 64bit. Think about this though Freeze, Offline Bouncing, 32bit float uh is it me or is Avid late on a lot of things? The excuse that they are giving for not implementing 64bit is truly not a good excuse. They should have been working on 64bit ProTools years ago. You would expect a company this big grossing over 500 million a year to have a road map to at least reach 64bit by version 10 of it's flagship. I mean they should really fire someone high up. If TDM and RTAS is what is stopping this transition why not just dump it all together. Avid has been like apple for years anyway it's not like they ever really cared about switching things up and leaving there customers steamed aren't we steamed now paying 299 for a damn update? I mean 9 was a good idea but not executed. It's like they don't care about the quality they are putting out just add a couple features that should have been there already and get more money. I was highly upset earlier when I saw this 10 only because Avid hasn't even reached 9.1 yet. That just let's you know how much they value there product themselves $$$ If you had to pay for more testers and developers to make your customers happy then so be it. Avid is over priced anyway HD XD wetf that should be the same price as the uad cards gtf over yourselves really. The economy is bad enough in the U.S for this b.s. My dollar has value therefor my opinion and how I feel matters. 99.99 should have been the cost of this which should have been release as 9.1.
forcing 1000s of users to dump everything at once to replace it, no one would buy it.
this way people have time and can make a choice od how they want to proceed.
I agree the prices are steep but Hollywood is a pay to play town
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One Disappointment After Another... timmyboylad Pro Tools 10 1 11-01-2011 09:56 PM
Upgrade disappointment deluxemusiker Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 11-20-2005 12:02 AM
Sonic disappointment bossa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 42 02-20-2005 07:01 AM
G5 is a disappointment Richard Fairbanks Post - Surround - Video 39 10-29-2004 11:35 AM
Digiworld Disappointment DaveCarlock Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 06-04-2002 01:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com