Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2021, 11:04 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,926
Default Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Is the trial version of the Dolby Atmos Production Suite found here:

https://developer.dolby.com/forms/do...n-suite-trial/

The same as the one sold by Avid? That site says it's a 90 day trial, is that correct?. And is the trial limited in anyway?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2021, 02:34 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,304
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Yep, that's the same as the one sold in the Avid store. IIRC, there were no limitations during the demo. Check it out! But give yourself time if you're new to the workflow. There's a lot to learn.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2021, 07:14 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,926
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Great, so the trial doesn't do anything stupid like blasting white noise every 30 seconds? Or limiting how long each project can be?

Is it worth checking out even if you don't have all the surround speakers and can only use the binaural headphone rendering? (FWIW, I'm quite familiar with mixing live shows in immersive environments and using object based maxing having toured with L-ISA and used SpaceMap).
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2021, 08:14 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,304
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Great, so the trial doesn't do anything stupid like blasting white noise every 30 seconds? Or limiting how long each project can be?

Is it worth checking out even if you don't have all the surround speakers and can only use the binaural headphone rendering? (FWIW, I'm quite familiar with mixing live shows in immersive environments and using object based maxing having toured with L-ISA and used SpaceMap).
With your experience, you'll feel right at home. The binaural headphone render alone is worth the price of admission. Absolutely worth anyone's time even if you don't have the speakers. It was years ago that I ran the DAPS trial, so my memory might be shaky, but I'm pretty sure it was fully-functional.

Inside DAPS, you can turn loudspeaker processing off, which will reduce CPU usage and also make the metering and monitoring more straight-forward when using headphones for binaural rendering alone. I recommend using the Dolby Audio Bridge, LTC (not MTC) timecode, and using an aggregate output device from DAPS (more info on that topic in the manual). Many preferences that are very important in binaural including near/mid/far object distances. Personally, I prefer the 7.1.4 loudspeaker experience, but the binaural experience is really good.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2021, 08:27 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,926
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Sweet, thanks for the info. I have a symphony mix that I need to finish. But then I have a couple other projects in May that I want to try out with Atmos and then spend some time over the summer working with. I'm pretty sure that I'll just go ahead and buy it, but wanted to make sure that it would function and work the way I think it should first.

Will it run on a MacBook Pro?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2021, 08:48 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,304
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Sweet, thanks for the info. I have a symphony mix that I need to finish. But then I have a couple other projects in May that I want to try out with Atmos and then spend some time over the summer working with. I'm pretty sure that I'll just go ahead and buy it, but wanted to make sure that it would function and work the way I think it should first.

Will it run on a MacBook Pro?
Yep, it will run on a MacBook Pro. Depending on the complexity of your mixes, you may find that it pushes the limit of your machine. But if you have the time to balance CPU power by freezing tracks in Pro Tools and/or doing a mix of online and offline re-renders, you should be ok. Alan Sallabank's series on Pro Tools Expert is a great resource for PT and DAPS. Be aware that there are really three levels of Atmos:

DAPS - single CPU system for making home theater and music mixes

DAMS - multi-CPU system for more elaborate home theater mixes with the renderer (DAMS) on a dedicated Mac or Windows machine

DA Cinema - high-end, lease-only multi-CPU system and Windows renderer for mixing films in Atmos.

Not to be discouraging, but I don't recommend releasing anything that you haven't had the chance to hear in 7.1.4. Before I upgraded my studio to 7.1.4, I worked on music mixes with DAPS and then took them to a better-equipped room to finish them. Last November, I connected TIDAL to my rig. AMAZING. There are some great Atmos albums out there.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios

Last edited by reichman; 04-12-2021 at 06:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2021, 09:22 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,926
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Be aware that there are really three levels of Atmos:

DAPS - single CPU system for making home theater and music mixes

DAMS - multi-CPU system for more elaborate home theater mixes with the renderer (DAMS) on a dedicated Windows machine

DA Cinema - high-end, lease-only multi-CPU system and Windows renderer for mixing films in Atmos.
I've been trying to wrap my head around this one. It seems that to use this level, you have to buy the more expensive Mastering Suite and a dedicated computer from a certified builder. Is it not possible to put together your own rendering machine or use a spare PC that you already have?

Also, what kind of speakers are you using for your system? I'm currently using a pair of Genelec 1031As. But I want to trade them out for a pair of Neumann KH120s. But for 11 speakers my budget would be more in line with some Presonus E5s.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-2021, 05:35 AM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 355
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Last November, I connected TIDAL to my rig. AMAZING. There are some great Atmos albums out there.
Are you using a receiver? Can you detail a bit on how you´re monitoring Tidal from your computer DAW on your setup? Thanks
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-11-2021, 07:46 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,304
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I've been trying to wrap my head around this one. It seems that to use this level, you have to buy the more expensive Mastering Suite and a dedicated computer from a certified builder. Is it not possible to put together your own rendering machine or use a spare PC that you already have?

Also, what kind of speakers are you using for your system? I'm currently using a pair of Genelec 1031As. But I want to trade them out for a pair of Neumann KH120s. But for 11 speakers my budget would be more in line with some Presonus E5s.
I think it is possible to buy DAMS without hardware, but I don't have experience building those systems. The only DAMS systems I've used were fully Dolby-certified. My strong recommendation is to not worry about DAMS until you hit a wall with DAPS. I know lots of people who own powerful Macs and do everything on one machine with DAPS. That's my approach right now as well. I spent a lot of time on a ladder, drilling lag bolts into my ceiling and upgraded my JBL LSR4300 series 5.1 system to 7.1.4. It's a long-story, but well worth it.

Quote:
Are you using a receiver? Can you detail a bit on how you´re monitoring Tidal from your computer DAW on your setup? Thanks
Yep, I bought an Apple TV 4K, and a refurbished Marantz 7705 which is a receiver, but without amps. In consumer-speak, it's a preamp processor. It has (13) +4 analog XLR outputs. So I patched those outs into my audio interfaces on DB25 snakes. TIDAL runs on the Apple TV and decodes to 7.1.4 (or on the Marantz 7.2.4!) and then I can listen to music and watch movies in Atmos in the studio. I'm not going to mince words- it sounds amazing and is so much fun. Lots more info about all the topics in this thread in the Atmos Professional Facebook group. AFAIK, the completely digital consumer Atmos systems are very expensive. I gave up on trying that, hence my D/A/D routing.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-11-2021, 08:58 AM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Production Suite trial

Anyone with any insight whether DAPS will be PC compatible at some point? I have a HP z840 workstation and was curious on how to implement DAPS in my computer without needing another dedicated computer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Dolby Atmos Production Suite License LDS Buy & Sell 1 10-20-2020 02:37 PM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite on Westmere 5,1 Stevo499 Post - Surround - Video 1 06-05-2020 07:36 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite 3.02 download LDS Post - Surround - Video 3 08-20-2019 07:03 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite garnoil Post - Surround - Video 2 03-13-2019 08:34 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite subhuffer Post - Surround - Video 20 03-10-2019 06:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com