Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2016, 02:28 AM
kol12 kol12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 56
Default Setup for midi drum pad controller.

Hi,

I'm just wondering how to go about setting up and recording drum tracks with a midi drum pad.

If I have a sample library how exactly do I assign samples to the pads on my controller? Do my samples need to be loaded into individual midi tracks? Does the recorded midi need to be converted to audio afterwards?

Kind of noob questions but thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2016, 06:03 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,985
Default Re: Setup for midi drum pad controller.

What controller do you have? And if it outputs sound on its on, do you want to records its outputs, or just the midi notes?

I'm guessing you're going to want to set it up as a midi controller, and insert a VI on an instrument track.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2016, 03:10 PM
kol12 kol12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 56
Default Re: Setup for midi drum pad controller.

I haven't actually got a controller yet I'm just curious as to how to set it up. I suppose there's a whole separate debate on actual sound outputting controllers vs midi controllers?

I'm being specific to drum pad controllers here. What is more popular? What are the advantages of actual sound outputting controllers? Most actual sound outputting controllers seem to do midi as well so maybe that is one advantage.. also maybe why the stand alone midi controllers are cheaper?

I just thought midi seemed to be quite popular these days?

Yes if using it as a midi controller I was wondering how you go about setting it up. I was thinking you would be able to assign .wav samples to pads from inside the daw perhaps to separate tracks? although I wasn't sure if this would be done with a VI.

Maybe a separate midi track has to be created for each individual pad of the midi controller?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2016, 04:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,874
Default Re: Setup for midi drum pad controller.

No separate midi track is required. All you want can be done on a stereo instrument track. There are several variations so you should try to narrow things down a bit before you dive in. Consider, to use your own samples, you can drag&drop them into Structure Free, assign them to specific midi notes for each sound, connect a midi controller(like the M-Audio Trigger Finger?), put the instrument track in record-ready and bang away. Or, use one of many available drum VI plugins(VI=Virtual Instrument) such as EZDrummer, Addictive Drums, BFD, etc. Any of these can be triggered by any midi trigger source including most any E-drum kit, pad controller(like the Trigger Finger I mentioned) or any midi keyboard.

One last bit of advice; the key to making all this work is to properly setup your external trigger device in the Setup>Midi>Midi Studio page
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2016, 12:26 AM
kol12 kol12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 56
Default Re: Setup for midi drum pad controller.

I think what I was thinking of was more like how you would program beats with something like the Akai mpd 32 or are they designed to be played and recorded live rather than programmed like a step sequencer?

I see the M-Audio has a built in step sequencer which is quite cool but I'm still curious as to how something like the Akai mpd 32 should be used.

I think I heard Mpc's can be programmed with patterns etc? I was thinking some of the midi drum pads might work similarly..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2021, 05:17 PM
ausitndj ausitndj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Houston
Posts: 6
Default Re: Setup for midi drum pad controller.

Did u ever figure it out? I just wanna know how to program the drum sounds I have to my midi controller and play it on pro tools!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Midi Controller Setup Jameson MIDI 4 04-16-2010 03:14 PM
MIDI Controller Setup Brian in Charlotte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-20-2009 02:15 PM
Reason 2.5 and Midi Drum Pad Controller nikko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-04-2008 07:52 PM
Drum Pad USB MIDI Controller Plastik909 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-16-2004 10:25 AM
Midi Controller setup. SoNiCAnGeR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-28-2003 10:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com