Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2004, 09:43 AM
Hermy Hermy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default Help, I lost all my tunes.

Before I tried to upgrade my system to MAC OS 10.3 and Protools 6.2.2. I backup all my Protools files in my Windows format iPod as a harddisk.

When the system upgrade was done, I copied all my old Protools files to the HD. My new Protools can't read my old Protools files.

After I added extend file name to the session files with .pts and audio files with .sd2, the sessions could be opened but the audio files were not. When I tried to open those "sd2" files with Quicktime, they could not be opened and I got an error message:

"Couldn't open the file "Audio xx_xx.sd2" because the end of file was reached prematurely."

I even ask my friend who uses the old system with Protools 5.2 to access my .sd2 files. He couldn't open them either.

We thought this is a problem about the different disk format between Mac and Windows, although MAC OSX could mount the iPod formatted by Windows ver. iTune:-(

Is there any body know how to solve this problem?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2004, 11:10 AM
Drive d Drive d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 282
Default Re: Help, I lost all my tunes.

What is your PT I/O? When you saved your PT files on to your HD, did you do a save session copy? or just copy the files over?
There are a few variables that do make a difference in how your computer will see the files it needs. You could try going back to the PC with the sessions and then doing a save session as deal. Or try to start a new session and import session data from the PC sessions. As long as all the audio is there it will bring it in, then you just save it as a new session.
Hope this helps out. Let us know.
On another note, it's never a real good idea to connect any firewire drive ( ipod ) between PC and Apple. Sometimes they just plain become unhappy and quit....
D-
__________________
G5 Quad 2.5
Digi 002
G5 D 2.0 HD 3 Accel
Control 24 - (2)192's
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2004, 12:00 PM
qgrm qgrm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 356
Default Re: Help, I lost all my tunes.

a reason not to use sd2. just use aiff, it just simplifies stuff like this. (and to be perfectly unhelpful i would say also that burning your files as aiff data would avoided this problem) sorry, had to say it.

Not being an expert on PC/Mac stuff I'm not sure exactly the quickest way to do this, but as long as the audio data is still there (45Mb sd2 file is now a 45Mb unreadable file) you should be safe with the right software conversion. try Rail Jon Rogut's site.

B.

__________________
Trogdor - I pine for you
http://www.homestarrunner.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2004, 01:39 PM
Hermy Hermy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Help, I lost all my tunes.

I used Digi001 and I've tried what you said but it's not work:-(
Thanks for your help anyway;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2004, 01:41 PM
Hermy Hermy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Help, I lost all my tunes.

Why Rail Jon Rogut's site?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2004, 03:13 PM
archtop archtop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Stanwood Wa.
Posts: 422
Default Re: Help, I lost all my tunes.

Quote:
Why Rail Jon Rogut's site?
rail the PT Jedi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i-Tunes issue stainless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-23-2009 05:24 PM
I tunes??? sw rec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-09-2006 08:03 AM
i-tunes astrorock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-15-2005 12:54 PM
Importing to i tunes christoph847 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-31-2004 11:35 AM
Christmas Tunes! Superbee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-22-2001 01:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com