Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2022, 10:30 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

I've had the Avid HD I|O (w/ 8-channel A/D card added) for many years, and there's certainly nothing wrong with it -- it's clear and detailed and covers the sonic gamut rather well -- *however* I do feel that there's still room for improvement.

I've considered sending it away for the popular Black Lion upgrade, and perhaps that's ultimately the answer to the question I'm asking, but I'd also like to know if there are other ProTools-friendly interfaces that are clear upgrades.

I'd prefer not to get into something like an Antelope product which has a lot of connectivity issues, and a less-than-ideal routing matrix. Simple integration with PT is important. As is 16+ channels of input and a good amount of digital inputs.

Going into 2023, are there any obvious convertor upgrades to consider?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2022, 10:38 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,312
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

MTRX is the obvious one to me... DAD quality and routing and monitoring flexibility. seems a whole step up vs throwing money at an old box.

Don't run Digilink myself. They souded great in demos. OTOH as much as I like shiny stuff, will it really make a difference? can you borrow/loan/trial stuff? To see?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2022, 12:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,530
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

I'm a big fan of Apogee Symphony II
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2022, 10:55 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

#1 element is if you require Digilink. If that's what you mean by integration with PT. That's actually the only real integration possible, everything else works outside PT's realm. But it significantly narrows down the field of interfaces.

Does MTRX Studio have enough I/O for you? No AES but 16 analogue and 16 ADAT. Plus Dante.

IMO upgrading the HD IO is a waste. And that's nothing against Black Lion or the HD IO itself. It just doesn't make financial sense to me.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2022, 12:15 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
MTRX is the obvious one to me... DAD quality and routing and monitoring flexibility. seems a whole step up vs throwing money at an old box.

Don't run Digilink myself. They souded great in demos. OTOH as much as I like shiny stuff, will it really make a difference? can you borrow/loan/trial stuff? To see?
That was the obvious one to me as well but if memory serves it lacks the I/Os I'd need. I'll take another look.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2022, 12:16 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I'm a big fan of Apogee Symphony II
Yes, a strong contender. A few friends have been happy with theirs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2022, 12:17 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
#1 element is if you require Digilink. If that's what you mean by integration with PT. That's actually the only real integration possible, everything else works outside PT's realm. But it significantly narrows down the field of interfaces.

Does MTRX Studio have enough I/O for you? No AES but 16 analogue and 16 ADAT. Plus Dante.

IMO upgrading the HD IO is a waste. And that's nothing against Black Lion or the HD IO itself. It just doesn't make financial sense to me.
Digilink is what I meant, yes. No AES might be a dealbreaker. I'd have to see if there are alternate ways to deal with digital.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2022, 01:20 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 486
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Digilink is what I meant, yes. No AES might be a dealbreaker. I'd have to see if there are alternate ways to deal with digital.
It was for me too.

I wrote this shortly after buying the MTRX back in 2020.
It is still one of the best purchases I've made.

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...y-to-avid-mtrx

You *could* add a Rednet D16R to the MTRX Studio if you need AES, but I am still glad I went for the full fat MTRX.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2022, 02:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,530
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Yes, a strong contender. A few friends have been happy with theirs.
Obviously the box needs HD option card, but as added bonus you can use it via TB with a laptop. And because it is a 32x32 box (depending on cards installed), it connects to hdn/hdx card via single cable.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2022, 02:13 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 486
Default Re: Interfaces considered a "step up" from the Avid I|O?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
MTRX is the obvious one to me... DAD quality and routing and monitoring flexibility. seems a whole step up vs throwing money at an old box.

Don't run Digilink myself. They souded great in demos. OTOH as much as I like shiny stuff, will it really make a difference?
In conversion quality it is pretty subtle against other pro level converters.

For me, the advantage to the MTRX is as a digital audio hub, esp for people who have lots and lots of channels in various formats.

Being able to aggregate dozens/hundreds of Dante, MADI, AES, Analogue channels was previously unheard of.

It is a great product but perhaps with a limited audience (post production, large audio facilities).
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing from - "Setup.exe Application" or "Avid Pro Tools Windows installer"? ihate100bees Windows 1 05-08-2021 09:35 AM
Pro Tools 11 hangs up at "loading midi engine" step for 10 minutes kevinjrowe macOS 0 08-23-2014 01:25 PM
Triggering "step-thru" loops with Roland TD-4, SPD-S, and mac possible? robo456 The Drum Room 2 10-06-2012 11:43 AM
"Step phaser" effect on Eleven Rack? julyen Eleven Rack 3 08-18-2011 11:24 AM
NCT AudioFile2--->step 1. Then "coreflood" hack aka21stCentury General Discussion 2 04-14-2011 07:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com