Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2011, 04:39 PM
McGrither McGrither is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: L.A.
Posts: 3
Default Hyper-Threading

PC question from a newbie here:

Can anyone tell me if Pro Tools LE 8, (in particular), is capable of utilizing the Hyper-threading technology of the Intel Pentium 4 Processor 3.2?

If so, is a single core processor w/ the hyper-thread @ 3.2 GHz & 2 GB of ram sufficient to run PT 8?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2011, 04:55 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: Hyper-Threading

Quote:
Originally Posted by McGrither View Post
PC question from a newbie here:

Can anyone tell me if Pro Tools LE 8, (in particular), is capable of utilizing the Hyper-threading technology of the Intel Pentium 4 Processor 3.2?

If so, is a single core processor w/ the hyper-thread @ 3.2 GHz & 2 GB of ram sufficient to run PT 8?
I am sure someone has. But I ain't heard of em.

Those specs would be pushing it.

You could install A/V Linux on that machine and use Ardour and get professional results for FREE rather than trying to install Pro Tools LE 8 and PAYING to be disappointed.

http://bandshed.net/DownloadInstall.html

Ask for Glenn tell him Philip sent you.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2011, 05:05 PM
McGrither McGrither is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: L.A.
Posts: 3
Default Re: Hyper-Threading

I was afraid of that.
Just found another thread re hyper-thread, discussing having to turn it off to run PT.
Thing is, I already have the Mbox 2 'n' PT 8.
So... between the single core and the 2 GB ram it's pretty pointless?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2011, 05:22 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: Hyper-Threading

Quote:
Originally Posted by McGrither View Post
I was afraid of that.
Just found another thread re hyper-thread, discussing having to turn it off to run PT.
Thing is, I already have the Mbox 2 'n' PT 8.
So... between the single core and the 2 GB ram it's pretty pointless?
Trying and seeing for yourself how it will work is not point less.

It should be Geeky Fun

I have H/T enabled in my BIOS.

If you do give it a go please post back your findings.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2011, 06:01 PM
McGrither McGrither is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: L.A.
Posts: 3
Default Re: Hyper-Threading

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip888 View Post
Trying and seeing for yourself how it will work is not point less.

It should be Geeky Fun

I have H/T enabled in my BIOS.

If you do give it a go please post back your findings.
You're right, pointless is a strong word.

Thanks phillip888!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2011, 06:19 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Hyper-Threading

PT has taken advantage of Multicore and Hyperthreading since 7.0 I would enable it in BIOS.

PT 8.0 is running just fine on my old 3.4GHZ P4 DAW at a buddys house in PA. However don't expect a lot out of a P4-your not going to get it. You should be able to run all 48 tracks with a few plugs or a 3-4 VI tracks like Xpand an MiniGrand, DB33 etc.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2011, 07:06 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,969
Default Re: Hyper-Threading

Quote:
Originally Posted by McGrither View Post
PC question from a newbie here:

Can anyone tell me if Pro Tools LE 8, (in particular), is capable of utilizing the Hyper-threading technology of the Intel Pentium 4 Processor 3.2?

If so, is a single core processor w/ the hyper-thread @ 3.2 GHz & 2 GB of ram sufficient to run PT 8?
It matters what you want to do. Assuming you have a dedicated graphics card and 2 hard drives, if you just want to do a few tracks, you will probably be fine. I've run PT8 on an Asus 1101 EEE netbook, and its ok for simple stuff, like tracking a guitar idea, but a full mix..... no way.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hyper-threading Precava Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 9 02-11-2006 12:07 PM
Hyper-Threading Denkelag 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-25-2005 04:56 AM
Hyper Threading Gordon -10 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-03-2005 12:00 AM
Hyper Threading... thebends9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-30-2005 01:07 PM
ASUS Hyper-Path.Is it the same as Hyper-threading? anakinskye Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 09-05-2004 11:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com