Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-19-2022, 02:28 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,888
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
I'd say that is street price since that's what Vintage King is listing it for.
According to the PT Expert blog that was the price announced a AES so I'm guessing (do not know) it's the MSRP
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-19-2022, 02:33 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,258
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Pro Tools | Carbon supports up to two Pro Tools | Carbon Pre interfaces for up to 24 mic/line inputs and 24 line outputs
From:
https://www.avid.com/products/pro-tools-carbon/specs

The confusing point is: "2 AVB Ethernet ports for Pro Tools | Carbon I/O expansion" under Carbon Pre

Meanwhile for using ADAT expansion:
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...Configurations

So are the AVB ports being used or not on the Carbon Pre? (Or is this a case of a half-finished product being released and they didn't get the AVB to work as expansion?)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF ProMac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-19-2022, 02:35 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,888
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
I don't know what I'm missing, but it looks like it's not really an expansion, just a new take on AVID/Digi PRE? Still limited to 24 inputs with Carbon-based system just like a current Carbon. Am I missing something? Does it actually increase the Carbon I/O, or just replace some I/O with more pres?

Everything I see looks like it's the latter...
I think you are correct It is simply a way to get either 8 more or 16 more Pre's (adding a second one) into the total of 24 channels It also does not increase the HDX chip count so still just the 8 on the original Carbon
But I am wondering if being AVB it will allow 16 or 24 channels to be at higher than 48k which is the limit with additional 16 ADAT channels
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-19-2022, 03:07 PM
eightamrock eightamrock is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United Stats
Posts: 62
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Are the Carbon preamps really that good or is the idea that everything is software controllable really the attraction?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-19-2022, 03:20 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,536
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by eightamrock View Post
Are the Carbon preamps really that good or is the idea that everything is software controllable really the attraction?
Yes and yes.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-19-2022, 03:59 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
The Carbon Guide has the following table for AVB config:

• 28x56 (44.1–96 kHz)
• 56x56 (44.1–96 kHz)
• 56x84 (44.1–96 kHz)
• 28x42 (44.1-192 kHz)
• 28x56 / 14x14 (44.1-192 kHz)
• 42x56 / 14x14 (44.1-192 kHz)

So, how many can we chain to get 56 in and 84 out? Probably Carbon + 2 Pres ?
It's a shame they didn't add some more headphone outs but I guess once you get past 4, headphone distribution is probably needed anyway.

Dominic

But how much DSP is in the Carbon? 64 inputs and 4 headphone sends will pretty easily bring a whole HDX card to its knees, before even adding plugins.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-19-2022, 04:11 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 620
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Well at the moment I’m struggling with putting just 8 channels in and out of DSP mode, taking 5 or 6 minutes, so 56 channels will take nearly an hour.
It does seem a bit strange not to put some more DSP in the second box. $2000 (assuming some discount) is a lot for 8 mic pres and some extra ADAT ports.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Monterey 12.6.3, Pro Tools 2022.12, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-19-2022, 04:40 PM
trimix trimix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
From:
https://www.avid.com/products/pro-tools-carbon/specs

The confusing point is: "2 AVB Ethernet ports for Pro Tools | Carbon I/O expansion" under Carbon Pre

Meanwhile for using ADAT expansion:
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...Configurations

So are the AVB ports being used or not on the Carbon Pre? (Or is this a case of a half-finished product being released and they didn't get the AVB to work as expansion?)
The AVB ports on the new Pre will work when attached to Carbon as an additional 8 i/o over AVB, up to a limit of two Pres chained to one Carbon. They will also work as a stand-alone AVB core audio interface when attached directly to an AVB capable Mac. The ADAT connectors on the Pre will not work as additional i/o for Carbon, they are just a mirror of the AVB signal for use with non-AVB systems like HDX or an off the shelf ADAT interface.
__________________
Avid Pro Tools Carbon
MOTU 16A
Avid Pro Tools 2022.12
MacOS Catalina 10.15.7
Apple MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 2.5 2014
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-19-2022, 04:42 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
Well at the moment I’m struggling with putting just 8 channels in and out of DSP mode, taking 5 or 6 minutes, so 56 channels will take nearly an hour.
It does seem a bit strange not to put some more DSP in the second box. $2000 (assuming some discount) is a lot for 8 mic pres and some extra ADAT ports.

Dominic

I don't really see why they called it the 'Carbon Pre', other than clearly just opening the Carbon design files and deleting the DSP, monitoring section and headphone amps. They should have called it something more ambiguous like the Avid PreX...

This feels like a very awkward product release that tries to give Carbon users the expandability they've asked for, while directly revealing that Carbon users will never be able to have the true expandability they've asked for.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-19-2022, 07:46 PM
eightamrock eightamrock is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United Stats
Posts: 62
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
Well at the moment I’m struggling with putting just 8 channels in and out of DSP mode, taking 5 or 6 minutes, so 56 channels will take nearly an hour.
It does seem a bit strange not to put some more DSP in the second box. $2000 (assuming some discount) is a lot for 8 mic pres and some extra ADAT ports.

Dominic
Hi, so I also have this problem when certain plugins are turned on, particularly on the master channel.

Are you by chance using the SoundID plugin from Sonarworks? That one in particular I find to jam up my DSP when its on the master insert.

If I disable all plugins on my master channel before enabling/disabling DSP the problem goes away.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools Carbon and ADAT Rob Hannon Pro Tools | Carbon 6 09-26-2021 08:04 PM
Pro Tools Carbon FAQ Avid Pro Tools | Carbon 0 09-19-2021 04:07 PM
Pro Tools Carbon with Standard and HDX? atticmike Pro Tools | Carbon 12 12-03-2020 05:24 PM
Pro Tools | Carbon Avid Technical Alerts 0 11-12-2020 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com