Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2022, 10:30 AM
tetonica's Avatar
tetonica tetonica is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 50
Default NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

New Carbon Pre 8-channel preamp on Avid website
https://www.avid.com/products/pro-to...bon/carbon-pre
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2022, 11:22 AM
Cowboy Bob's Avatar
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 432
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by tetonica View Post
New Carbon Pre 8-channel preamp on Avid website
https://www.avid.com/products/pro-to...bon/carbon-pre
I just saw that!

I wanted to see what the price was going to be so I hit the pre order link. Nothing. I went to Sweetwater to get pricing but they don't even list it yet.

Very curious about it. No DSP though?
__________________

"If the grass looks greener on the other side of the fence, well, it is likely due to the amount of manure being spread on that side of the fence." Cowboy Bob

Squaw Creek Road Studio

Bob
Pro Tools Ultimate (2022.9)| Pro Tools Carbon | Sibelius Ultimate (2022.9)
|
3.6GHz 8-core 9th-generation Intel Core i9 processor iMac w/40GB RAM | 1TB SSD | macOS 12.6 |

Avid Eleven Rack ERXP | Focusrite Clarett 8Pre X | Lenovo i7 ThinkPad | Win 7 Professional | Avid 003 + Rack |


Last edited by Cowboy Bob; 10-19-2022 at 11:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2022, 11:57 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,287
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Msrp $2999
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2022, 11:58 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Bob View Post
I just saw that!

I wanted to see what the price was going to be so I hit the pre order link. Nothing. I went to Sweetwater to get pricing but they don't even list it yet.

Very curious about it. No DSP though?
Looks like no DSP, but can be integrated into an existing system either via ADAT or AVB, or be used as a standalone interface (again via ADAT or AVB). Nice! I wonder what the AVB latency between units is.
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2022, 12:34 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 527
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

I don't know what I'm missing, but it looks like it's not really an expansion, just a new take on AVID/Digi PRE? Still limited to 24 inputs with Carbon-based system just like a current Carbon. Am I missing something? Does it actually increase the Carbon I/O, or just replace some I/O with more pres?

Everything I see looks like it's the latter...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2022, 12:35 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,261
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Msrp $2999
I'd say that is street price since that's what Vintage King is listing it for.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • S1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF Pro • Mac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2 • RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2022, 12:35 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,261
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
I don't know what I'm missing, but it looks like it's not really an expansion, just a new take on AVID/Digi PRE? Still limited to 24 inputs with Carbon-based system just like a current Carbon. Am I missing something? Does it actually increase the Carbon I/O, or just replace some I/O with more pres?

Everything I see looks like it's the latter...
It can be used side-by-side with the Carbon on the same AVB network. So it expands that system.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • S1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF Pro • Mac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2 • RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2022, 12:58 PM
CHRIS AIKEN CHRIS AIKEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: WARSAW POLAND
Posts: 484
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
I don't know what I'm missing, but it looks like it's not really an expansion, just a new take on AVID/Digi PRE? Still limited to 24 inputs with Carbon-based system just like a current Carbon. Am I missing something? Does it actually increase the Carbon I/O, or just replace some I/O with more pres?

Everything I see looks like it's the latter...

The way understood it was that if connect via Avb you add 8 channels of I/o and pres but keep the possibility of adding 16 channels of Adat on top of that. I could be wrong though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Hackintosh 3.6 GHz 8 Core Intel Core i9 - 12.4 Monterey -32 gigs Ram - Carbon - Protools 2022.6 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2022, 01:51 PM
trimix trimix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

Sold.
__________________
Avid Pro Tools Carbon
MOTU 16A
Avid Pro Tools 2022.12
MacOS Catalina 10.15.7
Apple MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 2.5 2014
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-19-2022, 02:25 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 622
Default Re: NEW -> Pro Tools | Carbon Pre

The Carbon Guide has the following table for AVB config:

• 28x56 (44.1–96 kHz)
• 56x56 (44.1–96 kHz)
• 56x84 (44.1–96 kHz)
• 28x42 (44.1-192 kHz)
• 28x56 / 14x14 (44.1-192 kHz)
• 42x56 / 14x14 (44.1-192 kHz)

So, how many can we chain to get 56 in and 84 out? Probably Carbon + 2 Pres ?
It's a shame they didn't add some more headphone outs but I guess once you get past 4, headphone distribution is probably needed anyway.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Monterey 12.6.3, Pro Tools 2022.12, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools Carbon and ADAT Rob Hannon Pro Tools | Carbon 6 09-26-2021 08:04 PM
Pro Tools Carbon FAQ Avid Pro Tools | Carbon 0 09-19-2021 04:07 PM
Pro Tools Carbon with Standard and HDX? atticmike Pro Tools | Carbon 12 12-03-2020 05:24 PM
Pro Tools | Carbon Avid Technical Alerts 0 11-12-2020 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com