Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2022, 06:50 AM
jmac146 jmac146 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Saint Joseph, MI
Posts: 54
Default Avid Mbox Pro Firewire - any way to connect to usb?

Hey guys, I know people are saying firewire is ancient, but so was my setup (win7, using my desktop I made back in 2008). It ran great but I received a much newer laptop computer which is only USB / USB-C.

I totally just assumed there were converters out there since everything under the sun seems to have one, but couldn't believe the struggle when looking for a firewire converter to USB. Does this seriously not exist? I have been happy with my mbox 3 pro and for consistency of what I'm used to and to keep this hobby going didn't want to have to drop any more money into a new one.

If anyone has any way to simply connect the Mbox 3 Pro to an Asus windows based USB laptop, I'm all ears! Thanks for the help.

https://www.amazon.com/Avid-Mbox-Pro.../dp/B004TD27W8
__________________
http://www.waverland.com
http://www.facebook.com/waverland
My Band & Music Production Sites
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2022, 07:12 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,813
Default Re: Avid Mbox Pro Firewire - any way to connect to usb?

No.

Different protocols.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2022, 09:01 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,546
Default Re: Avid Mbox Pro Firewire - any way to connect to usb?

As Sardi said, its not going to work. Best to sell the old(and not supported) Mbox and move to a new USB or USB-c interface. I had solid results with the Presonus Studio 1810c so I would expect the same from all in that lineup(and they go from 2x2 up to 24x18IO). If you have more money to spend, then there are plenty of options(RME being one of the best)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2022, 09:03 AM
jmac146 jmac146 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Saint Joseph, MI
Posts: 54
Default Re: Avid Mbox Pro Firewire - any way to connect to usb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
As Sardi said, its not going to work. Best to sell the old(and not supported) Mbox and move to a new USB or USB-c interface. I had solid results with the Presonus Studio 1810c so I would expect the same from all in that lineup(and they go from 2x2 up to 24x18IO). If you have more money to spend, then there are plenty of options(RME being one of the best)
Thanks for the note, I was hoping there was a less expensive option since with kids taking over my life its only a hobbies now and hard to justify the cost to upgrade anything these days. was hoping for a loop-hole solution $50 bucks or less...

Anyone know if there's a way to add firewire to a laptop? Its a zenbook pro if that helps.
__________________
http://www.waverland.com
http://www.facebook.com/waverland
My Band & Music Production Sites
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-11-2022, 03:07 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,311
Default Re: Avid Mbox Pro Firewire - any way to connect to usb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac146 View Post
Anyone know if there's a way to add firewire to a laptop? Its a zenbook pro if that helps.
The only option to add FireWire to laptops today is if they have Thunderbolt ports. That does not just mean USB-C ports, they must be USB-C ports with Thunderbolt support, or older style Thunderbolt 1 or 2 over Mini DisplayPort connectors.

We are multiple posts into this and you are just wasting time when you could have given the *exact* model number/specs of the laptop in your first post.

But not only do you need Firewire you need a device driver for the Mbox Pro that will work on the PC. https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ox-Pro-Drivers With old end of life products the driver will eventually stop being compatible with new Windows releases. So maybe not the end of the world to just give up and buy a new interface.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-11-2022, 03:18 PM
jmac146 jmac146 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Saint Joseph, MI
Posts: 54
Default Re: Avid Mbox Pro Firewire - any way to connect to usb?

Exact model is UX501VW - US71T. It mentioned that the USB c was "thunderbolt" and I recall downloading an updated driver for that.

I'm ok upgrading eventually but I feel like I didn't even own the mbox pro very long and it does exactly what I need, so I saw no need to upgrade it based on what I do. Maybe when the kids are a little older and I have more time to get back into it I'd upgrade but for now I just want it working as a hobby
__________________
http://www.waverland.com
http://www.facebook.com/waverland
My Band & Music Production Sites
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire Cable for Avid MBox Pro 3 BOX jcirrone Pro Tools | First Discussion 2 10-27-2016 10:07 PM
Macbook Pro 2011 Avid Mbox 3 Pro Firewire question Makkan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-17-2011 01:19 AM
Firewire cable to connect... Wkimbrel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-08-2010 10:46 AM
how to connect firewire drive and mbox to ibook Bluzhorn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-29-2003 09:20 AM
FireWire/G4 connect shutdown... timcissell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-15-2002 08:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com