Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2008, 12:06 AM
onebigtrip onebigtrip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default Lag when using virtual instrument...

Today i ran into a problem using Reason 4 with PT that i haven't had before. I have a pretty full production in Reason that i want to add vocals too, but when i play the song through PT, Reason lags on every down beat. in other words, i have a 4/4 beat going, and when i come around to the first beat again, it kind of just lags for a split second - so the whole song is completely unfluid.
i use Reason often with PT to juice things up with synths and drums samples etc and have never had a problem with lag when sequencing everything in Reason and running it through an instrument track in PT.
my first instinct was that my computer was overloaded, but i find that highly unlikely as i have plenty of RAM and a dual-core 3 GHZ processor, and the CPU meter says im barely using anything.

this is preventing me from finishing my track! i just bought reason 4 and havent used it much with protools yet, so im wondering if protools 7.1 and reason 4 are having trouble getting along...


any ideas or clues would be much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2008, 04:17 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Lag when using virtual instrument...

Are u trackin in reason or in PT...I've neva had any probs but I've ONLY tracked in PT using Rewire of course...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2008, 04:36 PM
onebigtrip onebigtrip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lag when using virtual instrument...

Tracking in PT using ReWire
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:08 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Lag when using virtual instrument...

U hav everything quantitized?...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2008, 11:47 AM
timebandit timebandit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 167
Default Re: Lag when using virtual instrument...

I experienced a similar problem only once. I had a rather large PT session and was using sounds from Reason. At that time I was using MIDI tracks in PT to trigger the devices in Reason. After a certain point there was a very slight timing lag coming from the Reason devices. I found in that case that the timing lag went away when I exported the MIDI tracks from PT and loaded them into Reason. In other words I was using the Reason sequencer to trigger the Reason sounds. I have worked both ways (using PT or Reason to sequence) many times since then and never experienced another similar problem. I don't know why that would be - maybe something to do with Rewire throughput priority? But it might help you to try that - at least to get the session done!

Tom
__________________
Tom Lynn
my music:
www.tomlynnmusic.com
other people's music:
www.headphonomenon.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 - virtual instrument ysound Pro Tools 11 6 09-11-2013 08:36 AM
PT HD 10 Virtual Instrument Installer petesteen Pro Tools 10 1 03-22-2012 05:51 PM
Virtual Instrument help! madgt621 Virtual Instruments 2 04-06-2010 06:57 AM
Virtual Instrument Track marcioguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-09-2009 08:04 PM
Virtual Instrument with a USB Keyboard? mightysphinx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-29-2008 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com