Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2010, 06:37 AM
djoeyd77 djoeyd77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Northport, NY
Posts: 98
Default Start a project from unity or hard drive?

This is a pretty silly question but my system was bogging down when i opened a new project. we have a pro tools drive on the unity. where should i open my project from in order to get best performance. any info is greatly appreciated. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2010, 06:39 AM
djoeyd77 djoeyd77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Northport, NY
Posts: 98
Default Re: Start a project from unity or hard drive?

also, if it is unity, how many gigs should be sufficient for a 30 second spot?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2010, 04:05 PM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: Start a project from unity or hard drive?

You're using a PC correct? Mac not qualified for streaming.
Also what kind of Unity are you trying to use?
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2010, 02:10 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,088
Default Re: Start a project from unity or hard drive?

When I used unity on a pc in the days of a v10 and 7.4.2 I head to stream video from unity, but download audio to local drives (scssi) so I could back it up.

Unity is great for delivering video streams and less so for multiple iffy bitty audio streams. Worked very nicely.

Cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2010, 07:31 AM
djoeyd77 djoeyd77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Northport, NY
Posts: 98
Default Re: Start a project from unity or hard drive?

here's what i'm using:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz


Pro Tools hd1 8.0.1cs1

Avid Unity Media Network
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2010, 02:38 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: Start a project from unity or hard drive?

If you're on a Mac, then Unity is not qualified for streaming. You need to work from local drives. What spec of Unity is it? Regardless...you cannot stream if you're on a Mac.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2010, 02:42 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: Start a project from unity or hard drive?

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...y+MediaNetwork
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partitioning a PT project hard drive? Calon Getting Started 4 02-09-2014 10:31 PM
Hard Drive question about using/saving a project in Mac session for use on Windows. rucontent Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 09-14-2011 08:04 AM
DAE can't get audio from hard drive fast enough, hard drive may be fragmented, there huncke Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 02-23-2010 02:06 PM
Unity drive free space not as listed Mario C Post - Surround - Video 11 03-01-2004 01:18 PM
project x vs. regular hard drive RobbaDobba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-13-2001 07:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com