Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-10-2014, 11:57 PM

Default Is 44.1 Khz 24-bit Good For a Standard Music Session With This PC?

I'm still learning things with Pro Tools everyday, and as many of you know, I have read an article on the debate of 44.1 vs 48 vs 96 and so on.....
Here is the article, it is from Pro Tools Expert-
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...ag/first-steps

Anyway, on there it said 44.1 is fine for a music project, although my new interface that I want, A focusrite Liquid Saffire Pro 56 supports up to 192. Obviously I won't be using 192k, but like my title says, is 44.1k enough quality to do a standard session? Just vocals, guitars, drum, then a few VI's. I am thinking about getting Sweetwater's Ultimate Creation Station computer http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/CS450v3 So, judging by this computer's specs, even though I'm sure it can handle more than 44.1, is 44.1 still okay to use even though the computer can handle more? I just don't want to overuse something like 96k if I honestly don't need it.

I mean I know the quality of a song gets affected by the mics you use, quality of VI's, and mixing, etc, but for all intents and purposes, say I have good equipment for all that stuff. With that in mind, would there really be a noticeable difference between a song at 44.1k, vs the same song recorded at 96k, to the average music listener, given that they are both mixed down to a standard 44.1k 16 bit for say iTunes or something?
Old 01-11-2014, 12:18 AM

Default Is 44.1 Khz 24-bit Good For a Standard Music Session With This PC?