Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2009, 11:34 AM
TheArch TheArch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 44
Default How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

So for the past year I have been doing a lot of electronic stuff with my mbox 2 which worked out great with just the two mic pre's but now I want to start recording live drums and such, what can I do? (besides overheads and buying an HD rig) I need more mic pre's
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2009, 11:45 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,844
Default Re: How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

If you mean more INPUTS you'll want to seriously think about upgrading to an 003 or 003 RACK. You can PRE-mix down to 2 channels, but then you're stuck with whatever you sent in. So you don't need an HD rig...even a used 002 would give you up to 18 inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2009, 11:53 AM
TheArch TheArch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 44
Default Re: How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

Yes, but only 4 mic pre's I dont need all those DI inputs or Line inputs. I am trying to record a drum set. How can I do that with all those DI inputs or Line inputs?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2009, 11:56 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,844
Default Re: How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

003 rack-factory has 8 mic pre's
OR an 002r (they're all over Ebay these days) with a Behringer ada8000, using the adat out into the optical in on the 002r gives you 8 mic pres, in addition to the 4 on the 002.
I have one, it works.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2009, 12:16 PM
TheArch TheArch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 44
Default Re: How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

Yea on the rack+ractory there is which would be great to have but money is an issue. So there is no way to could do that with an mbox correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2009, 12:17 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,844
Default Re: How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

Right, you're going to get 2 inputs on the M box. Period.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2009, 12:21 PM
jmitchell1532 jmitchell1532 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 764
Default Re: How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

Even if you hooked up an external mixer with a bunch of xlrs to mic the drums, they'd still feed into the L/R of the MBox, creating 1 stereo channel.
__________________
Jon

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2009, 12:23 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,377
Default Re: How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

A used 002 is well worth the money. You can find preamps very inexpensively if you don't need AD converters.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2009, 12:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,063
Default Re: How can I add mic pre's to my mbox 2?

Ditto. A used 002 with a Behringer ADA8000 is a very cost-effective setup that would give you 12 mic preamps plus 4 line inputs(take some audio off the live PA mixer?) Whenever anyone asks about which interface they should buy, the first question I ask is; are you planning on recording drums? If the answer is YES, then Mbox is NOT a consideration. You can certainly recoup some cash by selling the Mbox to offset the expense. Used 002racks can be found for under $500 and another $200 for the ADA8000. OR, you could rent a 24 track hard disc recorder(Tascam or Alesis) for the live tracking and import the audio into Pro Tools and mix/edit with your Mbox2.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Pre's with Mbox Pro 3 AnnexProjekt macOS 2 03-02-2013 01:12 AM
MBox 2 & its mic pre's DanielPinho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 05-06-2010 08:12 PM
Mic pre's: MBox 2 VS cheap Behringer pre's VS M-Audio Firewire 410 (Mp3 samples) DanielPinho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-18-2009 04:14 PM
Mbox & Control 24 Converters & Pre's? Archmart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-24-2004 12:46 PM
Mbox pre's vs Penta., or are they the same? platinum1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-21-2003 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com