Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2003, 01:19 PM
Notefarm Notefarm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ca, USA
Posts: 442
Default Re: Terrible problem with digital clicks - could you advice ?

I am not sure if this is the right answer but I know that if I don't set my sample rate to the correct setting when using my ADAT light pipe in for an extra 8 ins, I get cliclk and pops.
May be that might help.
Just a guess.
Peace
NoteFarm
__________________
What games shall we play today?
http://www.notefarm.net/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2003, 01:22 PM
ISedlacek ISedlacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nova Ves, Czech Republic
Posts: 418
Default Re: Terrible problem with digital clicks - could you advice ?

What do you exactly mean ? I have sample rate set to 44,1 permantly and have not ever changed it ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2003, 01:29 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Terrible problem with digital clicks - could you advice ?

What happens if you go from the Rosetta straight to the Mini DAC (taking PT out of the equation).. any pops and clicks?

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2003, 02:32 PM
ISedlacek ISedlacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nova Ves, Czech Republic
Posts: 418
Default Re: Terrible problem with digital clicks - could you advice ?

I tried it in another way now. When I listen to something via mini DAC, occassional clicks happen. I switched back to 001 outputs (quite a big sound "downgrade" [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] ), no clicks ...
Have not tried with recording yet, but I am almost sure that without mini DAC connected the clicks will not be happening. What could it mean ?
What do you mean by connected Rosetta and mini DAC directly ? What would I hear then when PT is bypassed ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2003, 02:37 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Terrible problem with digital clicks - could you advice ?

Rosetta A to D SPDIF or Toslink to Mini DAC -- With the Rosetta as the front end - it's the clock source for all devices after it in the chain. If you just monitor straight from into the Rosetta D to A to the Mini DAC without anything in between.. does it still have a clocking issue -- this removes Pro Tools as an issue, or identifies it as somehow not feeding the Mini DAC with a good clock source. I'm taking it that you've set the Mini DAC's clock source setting correctly.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2003, 03:27 PM
ISedlacek ISedlacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nova Ves, Czech Republic
Posts: 418
Default Re: Terrible problem with digital clicks - could you advice ?

I did as you suggested - connected Rosetta and mini DAC via SPDIF cable and fed Rosetta with a sound - no clicks.
Then I again connected Apogees with PT and changed the new luxurious Sony optical cable connecting 001 and mini DAC for an old thin simple one, listened for almost ten minutes - so far no click. Could this be an issue ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2003, 03:53 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Terrible problem with digital clicks - could you advice ?

Cables (actually usually the connectors) could definately be a problem. See if it's better with the different cable for a few days.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-27-2003, 12:34 AM
ISedlacek ISedlacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nova Ves, Czech Republic
Posts: 418
Default Terrible problem with digital clicks - could you advice ?

I have Apogee Rosetta and Apogee mini DAC connected via lightpipes to 001. Hardware settings: optical format ADAT, sync mode Optical. In PT: input Optical 1-2, output Optical 1-2. Although mini DAC sounds awesome, since adding it to my chain, I experience digital clicks sometimes less, sometimes more often, sometimes they stop for some time, sometimes it is unbearable. During recording (they are recorded), and also during listening. I changed a cable, still going on. What can be the problem ??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Terrible OnlineShop experience!!!Need advice. Pjano General Discussion 12 01-03-2012 01:03 PM
Mbox 2 and Pro Tools CPU Overload 6101 producing terrible digital and cracling noise jackblak Pro Tools 9 2 12-07-2010 08:32 AM
Terrible hum and digital noise from mbox (even in windows) Georgerob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-30-2010 06:25 AM
Problem with AD8000 & 192 digital need some advice please. digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-03-2009 05:34 AM
Digital clicks problem Richard Fairbanks Post - Surround - Video 3 08-12-2004 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com