Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2023, 04:51 PM
basehead617 basehead617 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: California
Posts: 300
Default Avid Control faders and meters sluggish/intermittent

Using Avid Control on iPad Pro 2nd gen (latest iOS) via Wifi to PT Ultimate (2022.12) on a Mac Pro 7,1 (latest Monterey)

Faders will ‘catch’ while trying to do smooth movements then jump an inch or so. It’s wonky on the app side too not just in PT.

Meters have the same behavior where they update intermittently.

Network is 5 ghz with full/strong signal and nothing else using it simultaneously. No QoS enabled.

Happens in a brand new project with 1 channel, so it’s not overloaded.

Logic Remote Control app on the same iPad has no issues controlling Logic on the same Mac Pro without sluggishness.

Ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2023, 06:24 PM
basehead617 basehead617 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: California
Posts: 300
Default Re: Avid Control faders and meters sluggish/intermittent

bumping this… i can’t be the only one?

guess i’ll make a support ticket if this goes nowhere.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2023, 07:21 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,413
Default Re: Avid Control faders and meters sluggish/intermittent

I've seen this in a crowded studio with a ton of RF interference making the Wi-Fi wonky. You could try running the iPad on ethernet, but that doesn't explain why Logic is working well.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Producer/Re-recording Mixer - New York
Nathaniel Reichman | IMDB | LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2023, 01:15 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,683
Default Re: Avid Control faders and meters sluggish/intermittent

Quote:
Originally Posted by basehead617 View Post
bumping this… i can’t be the only one?

guess i’ll make a support ticket if this goes nowhere.
You aren't the only one. New Eucon is buggy. I have had the meters disappear and then reappear the next day. Nothing changed in my setup, same wifi network too. I have also had the faders on the Control App have massive lag. Next day it's fine. I cannot get these issues to repeat.
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2023, 09:49 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,648
Default Re: Avid Control faders and meters sluggish/intermittent

Nothing has changed in this area of code and these symptoms point to network related. If it was a bug in the software then I would expect 100's of posts about it. (FYI comparing the Logic App is not a true comparison as the EUCON protocol requirements are night and day)

If you Collect the logs and send me a link to download them we can take a look to see if this is the case or now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2024, 03:20 PM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 289
Default Re: Avid Control faders and meters sluggish/intermittent

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Nothing has changed in this area of code and these symptoms point to network related. If it was a bug in the software then I would expect 100's of posts about it. (FYI comparing the Logic App is not a true comparison as the EUCON protocol requirements are night and day)

If you Collect the logs and send me a link to download them we can take a look to see if this is the case or now.
Hey guys, one of the rooms in the nine room facility at work on fast. Intermittent issues both on the iPad and on S3 and Dock surfaces. Screens, kind of flashing on the iPad and Feder is going up and down in LEDs on and off. It's almost like it's net work or conflict and it's on everything connected to Eucon. The Eucon network is seperate from IOT and general production like our other rooms.

Could a program like ChronoSync or other be interrupting things?


PT 2023.12 Ult
Eucon 2023.11
Mac Os Monterey
Intel Mac Pro Tower w/128GB Ram
__________________
PT Ult 2023.6 HDX2
Mac Studio M1 Maxx
OS 13.2.1 64GB Ram
S6 32 fader 2022.9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Control App - Meters Yellow and Can't change pgstudio Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 0 05-10-2022 06:53 AM
Avid Control: Meters in monitoring tab JanuS Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 0 10-31-2020 03:11 AM
Avid Control, Meters not working on iPhone 8 bsteeve Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 8 12-11-2019 11:17 PM
Avid/Digidesign Pro Control 16 Faders (Main Unit + 8 faders pack) Eduardo Apolonia Buy & Sell 3 11-24-2015 09:56 PM
Sluggish meters in 6.4.1 Doug Beck Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-20-2004 08:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com