Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2010, 08:23 AM
jackblak jackblak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 2
Default Mbox 2 and Pro Tools CPU Overload 6101 producing terrible digital and cracling noise

While Pro Tools 9 on a MacBook Pro 2.8 Intel Core 2 Duo 8gb, 240gb SSD internal drive through an Mbox 2, it stops and marks error 6101 CPU overload, and then playback sounds digitalized and unrecognizable and quickly worstens making a terrible noise, it only gets resolved if I restart computer. Sometimes that doesn't work either. I've contacted AVID but get no reply. My headphone Jack produces a terrible hum, could all of this be because my Mbox 2 is 5 years old? I'd really appreciate any guidance to resolve this problem!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2010, 08:29 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Mbox 2 and Pro Tools CPU Overload 6101 producing terrible digital and cracling no

Sounds like a hardware issue.

Have you updated to the most recent drivers?

Try recording with your internal audio on the MacBook Pro. If you don't reproduce the same issue and you have the latest drivers, signs point to a borked Mbox.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2010, 08:32 AM
jackblak jackblak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mbox 2 and Pro Tools CPU Overload 6101 producing terrible digital and cracling no

Thank You, I'll try this and let you know!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Overload -6101 wiggity5050 Pro Tools 10 4 01-04-2014 04:10 PM
CPM Overload Error 6101 on Pro Tools LE v8 cmcclean 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 01-25-2011 08:32 PM
CPU Overload 6101 TB12 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 01-02-2011 10:29 AM
Terrible White Noise Bursts - Mbox 2 Pro / MacBook Pro Phil Gorey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 52 09-07-2010 02:28 AM
Terrible hum and digital noise from mbox (even in windows) Georgerob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-30-2010 06:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com