Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2007, 09:14 PM
ccBob ccBob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California (Desert)
Posts: 5
Default Using PT with multiple users

Is it possible to use PT with more than one user on the same Mac?

Basically, I have PT 7.1 installed on my main account (PowerBook G4). Since I have a lot of apps running in my main account, I was going to setup a new account only for use as a DAW - this way I could disable anything that would prevent PT from running optimally. But, when I try to run PT from the new account, it simply crashes.

Any ideas on how this could be performed, or do I need to reinstall PT on the DAW account?

Thanks for any info.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:12 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,565
Default Re: Using PT with multiple users

Create differenet user acconts on your mac. Each user will have thier own preferences. Try it, it should work.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2007, 03:01 AM
arnonAtron arnonAtron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego ,CA USA
Posts: 44
Default Re: Using PT with multiple users

i think i know what your problem is
you have to give that second account admin privileges
pro tools requires that the user has admin privileges to run
it's just one of those things ..
but if you don't mind that
your second account should run fine
__________________
MACPRO-2.66ghz-5GB RAM/MAC mini-1.5Ghz-1 GB RAM/ibook-G41.42ghz-1.5 GB RAM/DIGI 002/Mbox 2/Mbox2mini/ProToolsLE 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:26 AM
ccBob ccBob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California (Desert)
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using PT with multiple users

Thanks Barry.

I tried this and PT still crashes on startup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:33 AM
ccBob ccBob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California (Desert)
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using PT with multiple users

Thanks arnonAtron.

The new account has admin privileges, but PT still crashes. I even experimented with changing ownership of the entire DigiDesign folder to the new account, but still the same result.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:06 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: Using PT with multiple users

Try removing all your plug-ins from your plug-ins folder - if Pro Tools doesn't crash, you'll know it's plug-in related. I believe Native Instruments and a few other plug-ins may need some tweaking to work under a second account.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2007, 06:32 PM
ccBob ccBob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California (Desert)
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using PT with multiple users

Thanks for the suggestions. I tried removing the plugins, but it still fails.

Rather than waste too much time on it, I simply removed PT and reinstalled it in the DAW account - since this is where the bulk of the work will be done.

Thanks again.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiple users and LE invaderhalomaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-06-2005 02:17 PM
Multiple Users in OS X arconaut Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-24-2005 06:36 PM
Multiple users trickyjw Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 03-23-2004 10:05 AM
Multiple Users for PT6 Goodman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 08-07-2003 08:10 AM
Multiple users Justin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 04-20-2000 11:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com