Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2010, 08:05 AM
mikepe3 mikepe3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5
Default Driver Problems loading PTLE on Win7 64 bit

After a recent build of a new desktop(specs below), I purchased the latest, greatest MBox and attempting to load LE 8.0.4 on my new toy. Everything, including drivers have installed, but upon start-up, I get the "no hardware detected" error message. I checked the device manager and sure enough...no drivers!

I attempted everything. Allowing windows to find them, trying to manually install them, downloading the V1.0.19 driver set from the web page and upgrading to Cs2 build and still no drivers detected. I'm USB's from device to 2.0 USB on desktop.

This is the only thing holding me up and I'm planning on calling tech support tomorrow, but if anyone has any "sure fire" suggestions today, i would appreciate hearing them.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2010, 08:07 AM
mikepe3 mikepe3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5
Default Re: Driver Problems loading PTLE on Win7 64 bit

I see no specs. Thinking that if you put them in your profile they would appear in your thread....not!

ASUS Sabertooth 58X Motherboard
Intel I7 950 processor
6 gb ram
Agility 60 gb primary SSD
Secondary 1Tb SATA data drive
Win7 Pro 64bit
MBox 3rd Gen
PTLE 8.0.4 cs2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2010, 09:00 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Driver Problems loading PTLE on Win7 64 bit

We will need more detailed specs to be able to help in any educated capacity.

Please read the "Help us help you - what you need to know before posting" thread and follow instructions there.

One thing I've found about Avid USB peripherals; they tend to be picky about which USB port to which they are connected. Have you tried a different port?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2010, 10:55 AM
mikepe3 mikepe3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5
Default Re: Driver Problems loading PTLE on Win7 64 bit

OK, I've read the suggested thread and thought I was pretty thorough. Not sure what else to add. The device manager is seeing the Mbox, but says there are no drivers loaded. I've tried to let windows load them and tried to manually load them and am getting nowhere.
I'm pretty sure the issue is lack of driver on the Mbox device. Nothing I've tried can get drivers to load. I've downloaded drivers, gone through the install process, but it's just not loading them into the device.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2010, 11:26 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Driver Problems loading PTLE on Win7 64 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepe3 View Post
OK, I've read the suggested thread and thought I was pretty thorough. Not sure what else to add.
OK, So then you must have read this section at the bottom?

Quote:
Windows users need to provide a Sandra report

- Please - Use SiSoftware's Sandra Lite application to generate a full system profile:

www.sisoftware.co.uk

Under SiSoftware Sandra, click on "Download & Buy" to download the free Sandra Lite version or purchase other versions. After installing Sandra, click on the 'Hardware' tab and run the 'Computer Overview', then copy and paste into your post here on the DUC.


The more information you can provide, the easier it will be for Tech Support and other users to assist you - take the time now to document everything you can and you'll save time in the long run. We can't express enough the importance of describing everything in extreme detail - remember, no one here can see how your gear is configured, so we need an accurate description by you to get a clear picture. The better we can envision your setup, the easier it will be to troubleshoot.

If you have been referred to this thread and reply without providing the information requested above, including the Sandra report for Windows users, your post is very likely to be given lower priority in favor of those who have provided complete information.
I haven't seen you post that report, so there must be some sort of dis-connect here.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepe3 View Post
I'm pretty sure the issue is lack of driver on the Mbox device. Nothing I've tried can get drivers to load. I've downloaded drivers, gone through the install process, but it's just not loading them into the device.
So try this:
  • Disconnect the hardware
  • Run the Pro Tools Uninstaller
  • select a clean uninstall (everything)
  • restart
  • install your version of Pro Tools (do NOT connect the hardware if/when it tells you to)
  • restart
  • install the cs update (do NOT connect the hardware if/when it tells you to)
  • install the new drivers
  • restart
  • connect the hardware and let windows find he drivers for it
  • if that goes as planned, start Pro Tools.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2010, 02:12 PM
mikepe3 mikepe3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5
Default Re: Driver Problems loading PTLE on Win7 64 bit

My apologies... I glossed right over that

Here is Sandra:

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : System manufacturer System Product Name
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name :
User

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
Speed : 3.2GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Asus SABERTOOTH X58
BIOS : AMI 0505 09/03/2010
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : ASUS X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)

Chipset
Model : Intel Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 536MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : SanMax ModulePartNumber00 2GB DIMM PC8500U
Memory Module : SanMax ModulePartNumber02 2GB DIMM PC8500U
Memory Module : SanMax ModulePartNumber04 2GB DIMM PC8500U

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 (192 SM5.0 1.65GHz, 1GB, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 (192 SM5.0 1.65GHz, 1GB, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 (128SP 4C 1.65GHz, 993.4MB)
CUDA Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 (128SP 4C 1.65GHz, 993.4MB)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 (192SP 1.65GHz, 993.4MB)

Storage Devices
OCZ-AGILITY2 (60GB, SATA300, SSD, NCQ) : 56GB (C:)
SAMSUNG HD103SJ (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 932GB (G:)
WD My Book 1TB (FireWire/1394, NCQ) : 932GB (F:)
WD My Passport 071A 1TB (USB) : 931GB (E:)
HP psc 2410 (USB) : N/A (J:)
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22LS40 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 7GB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Data (G:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ SAMSUNG HD103SJ (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache)
Hard Disk (F:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WD My Book 1TB (FireWire/1394, NCQ)
My Passport (E:) : 931GB (NTFS) @ WD My Passport 071A 1TB (USB)
Hard Disk (C:) : 56GB (NTFS) @ OCZ-AGILITY2 (60GB, SATA300, SSD, NCQ)
Removable Drive (J:) : N/A @ HP psc 2410 (USB)
Hard Disk (Q:) : N/A
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 7GB (CDFS) @ HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22LS40 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 A5-13
Audio Device : ASUS HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semiconductor High Definition Audio
Audio Device : EVGA 0BE9h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0011h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0011h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0011h
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASUS 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS JMB362 AHCI Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : ASUS USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : ASUS USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : ASUS VT6306 VIA Fire II IEEE-1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP psc 2400 Series (1200x1200, USB, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : Hewlett-Packard HP psc 2400 series (Scanner, 2400x2400, USB)

Peripherals
Media Player : ()

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family PCI Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20) (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 7.2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2010, 11:18 AM
mikepe3 mikepe3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 5
Default Re: Driver Problems loading PTLE on Win7 64 bit

All issues resolved with a clean re-install of the OS and PTLE after a 2 hour call to tech support

Last edited by mikepe3; 11-08-2010 at 11:25 AM. Reason: additional material
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003r support? is there a working driver for win7 64? dwells 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-15-2012 07:19 PM
002 rack driver issues on win7 64-bit adrianadrian Pro Tools 9 26 11-23-2010 11:51 PM
win7 Beta Driver 8.0.4c?? NobodyImportant General Discussion 3 03-28-2010 04:53 AM
Mbox 2 USB Devices and Win7 Beta driver DigiTechSupt Technical Alerts 0 03-03-2010 12:49 PM
Problems Loading The Wave Driver For XP Woodroe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-28-2005 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com