Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2023, 03:33 PM
Ging Ging is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Default Dock not working with wifi on

Hi folks,

Just forked out for a new dock but left scratching my head on how to get this thing to work. Hoping you can help with some pointers.

Here's the setup:
Mac mini M1 2020 16GB
iPad Air 5
AVID Dock

Dock is connected via ethernet cable directly into the Mac.
iPad is connected over wifi.

Dock seems to behave when I turn off wifi (so no iPad control) and set the network to DHCP (IP address 0.0.0.0)

As soon as I turn on wifi the Dock disappears from EuControl altogether and I'm left with just the iPad.

Dock firmware is up to date. I'm a total noob when it comes to networking so I might be doing something obviously wrong.

Anyways thanks for any help you can suggest.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2023, 03:34 PM
Ging Ging is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

Sorry forgot to include system details:

System DetailsEdit Value
Protools Intro Version 2022.12.0
Eucontrol Version: 2022.12.1.34
EUCON Version: 4.10.3.34
Mac mini M1, 2020, 16GB RAM
macOS Ventura 13.2.1
Arturia Minifuse 2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2023, 03:43 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,173
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

it's because of network system priority. When the wifi is on, Eucon is only checking the wifi network. When it is off, it is checking the connection plugged to the Dock. The best solution is connect the Dock to the Wifi ethernet ports (most have at least 4 ports) so they are all on the same network all the time.

The other option is to change the eucon port in Apple system settings: go to Eucon while the wifi is on and change the port Eucon is set there to the wired ethernet. But this is a worse solution than putting them all on the same network.

And to be clear, option 2 is out of the question if you are also using a wireless iPad running Avid Control. They would be on two different works (wifi and wired) and Eucon only checks one.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2023, 04:15 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

I might not be getting this perfectly, I'm a total blank on networking stuff too, but when I had troubles with ipad and Artist Mix'es, Avid's Jeffro told me to turn off wifi on my mac. The point is since my mac is connected to our router via ethernet cable, the ipad and mac will communicate with the iPad connected to the router's wifi. And my two Artist Mix'es are connected by ethernet cables to my mac via a switch. IHTH.
__________________
Mac mini M2 16GB RAM macOS 13.4.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2023, 04:30 PM
Ging Ging is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

I think I get it.

Could I connect the mini and dock to my network switch and add a wireless access point as well.

That would keep everything on the same network with the Mac only listening to the one ethernet port?

I'm thinking of doing that way because I don't have easy access to our main router without a very long cable run.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2023, 05:37 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,173
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ging View Post
I think I get it.

Could I connect the mini and dock to my network switch and add a wireless access point as well.

That would keep everything on the same network with the Mac only listening to the one ethernet port?

I'm thinking of doing that way because I don't have easy access to our main router without a very long cable run.
One question, how does that switch or wireless access point get internet?

(A) If the wireless access point acts as a wireless bridge or mesh expander, then you hook one of the 4 LAN ports to the switch. Mini and Dock connect to switch and iPad to wireless.

(B) If the switch has a hard wire connection to the internet (your main router), then you want to turn off the DHCP server service in the wireless access point (otherwise it'll be creating a new network separate from your main network.) And then that wireless access point can be set up to bridge (anything that connects to it wirelessly will get its DHCP address from the main network instead of the access point.) You'll want the WAN port on the wireless access point hooked to the switch.

(C) if the wireless access point is also the switch (any of them that have 4 LAN ports in addition to the WAN port), then connect the iPad wirelessly to it and plug mini and Dock to it on the LAN ports. Keep DHCP service on for the access point (but make sure it isn't the same set as your main router in this case. Like if the main router spits out 192.168.0.xxx to computers hooked to it, change the access point to be 10.10.0.xxx for its DHCP server.) And then you can use the wireless on the mini to get to the internet and the wired to do Eucon. However, all the Eucon devices won't have internet access (unless you share the service in macOS: share internet from wireless to wired on the mini and turn off the DHCP server on the access point.) If the mini is off, then there will be no internet for the iPad or Dock but when it is on, the mini will share its internet.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2023, 06:25 AM
Ging Ging is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

I have an older intel Mac mini that's connected to the switch and I've activated internet sharing on it.

So I'm thinking something like this would work with the iPad connected to the wireless access point.

SWITCH
|
|---------> Intel Mac mini (Internet Sharing on and connected to house router via wifi)
|
|---------> Mac Mini M1 running Protools (Wifi Off)
|
|---------> Avid Dock
|
|---------> Wireless Access Point
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2023, 10:17 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,173
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

That'll work.

Just make sure the connected Wireless Access Point has its DHCP server off (that way the iPad gets it's IP address through the switch that is getting its internet from the shared house internet.) This is sometimes known as "AP mode" for some wireless access points (because it isn't trying to create its own local LAN but expands the network it is connected to.)

And make sure all devices are set to DHCP (by default the Dock should be)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2023, 11:20 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

I think you are over complicating things.

Some notes:
  • The iPad (Avid Control) does not need to be on the same network as the Dock. EuControl can talk to both at the same time.
  • Changing anything network related will cause issues with EUCON, so a restart is the best way to make sure whatever you change has worked or not.

The way you originally had it, is the recommended way. Plug the Dock into the Mac directly (leave the Ethernet port set to DHCP), connect the tablet to your home router and the Macs WiFi to the home's router.
If this doesn't work, try changing the network priority order in the Mac Network settings. Remembering to fully reboot and power cycle.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2023, 01:02 PM
Ging Ging is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Default Re: Dock not working with wifi on

Thanks Eddie,

Sorry for not updating the thread sooner. I haven't had a window in which to devote time to troubleshooting.

I've followed your instructions as best I can but with no success.

The closest I get is getting Avid Control to work over wifi. The dock appears as 'available' but once I add it I loose control of both devices and Eucon stalls for a bit then gives me an error message (see attached screenshot).

I've tried a few permutations (changing network order etc) but I'm not sure what to try next.

Philip
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2023-05-09 at 20.35.03.png (35.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dock & S3 (ethernet) / iPad & Internet (WiFi) Connectivity Problems freeBase Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 4 11-04-2022 01:44 PM
S1/Dock not connecting when there is Wifi enabled mw202 Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 0 02-11-2021 11:45 AM
Anybody got S1 and Dock working with Ableton? OAG Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 3 02-28-2020 08:14 PM
Dock Stopped Working dalonso66 Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 3 04-25-2019 06:21 PM
Optimization says disable wifi- ilok needs wifi HughHM Pro Tools 12 10 12-21-2017 09:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com