Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:55 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

My PowerBook won't "Restart" it Panic's the "Black Restart Screen" but oddly enough it WILL "START FROM COLD"

I've been troubleshooting this in Forums for days, found others with the same problems, and had Apple Unix Geeks, trace the system.log panic information, to Pro-tools.

All others I've found with this startup problem, same error.... are running Pro-tools as well.

it's been happening a while I suppose, so it's not something likely 10.4.8 or 7.1cs10 specific, that's effecting the "STARTUP" command on Powerbooks, the other 2 guys I found with the same problem, documented their problem, in February, and May of this year??


Here's ALL of the detailed information.

Original post of the problem, with detailed troubleshooting measures (the first post has been updated with all troubleshooting attempts)

An Apple Forum Post where the system.log report indicates a problem with Pro-Tools

Another user with the same problem

A 3rd other with the same problem


Considering this Just started happening, and other users have started to document it... other Pro-tools users... I'm wondering if you could look into it.

If you need anything from me.... full system Log, whatever.... e-mailo me through my e-mail contact here on the d.u.c and I'll provide any information you need to battle this.

From My Log.....

Oct 30 17:32:46 localhost kernel[0]: DigiIO has a funnel lock. Whoa momma!
Oct 30 17:32:46 localhost kernel[0]: IOResources: match category DigiIO exists
Oct 30 17:32:46 localhost kernel[0]: IPv6 packet filtering initialized, default to accept, logging disabled
Oct 30 17:32:47 localhost kernel[0]: UniNEnet: Ethernet address 00:11:24:dc:72:50
Oct 30 17:32:47 localhost kernel[0]: AirPortPCI_MM: Ethernet address 00:11:24:a3:1e:3f
Oct 30 17:32:47 localhost kernel[0]: IOResources: match category DigiIO exists
Oct 30 17:32:47 localhost diskarbitrationd[40]: disk0s3 hfs 80A066E8-3854-3A24-9717-B689ADEE891E Macintosh HD /
Oct 30 17:32:47 localhost kernel[0]: IOResources: match category DigiIO exists
Oct 30 17:32:48 localhost kernel[0]: NVDA,Display-A: vram [a0000000:08000000]
Oct 30 17:32:48 localhost kernel[0]: NVDA,Display-B: vram [00000000:01000000]
Oct 30 17:32:48 localhost launchd: Server 2f07 in bootstrap 1103 uid 0: "/usr/sbin/lookupd"[41]: exited abnormally: Hangup
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:30 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

I've solved this problem myself, with some help...

This was an Airport Extreme card, which needed to be re-seated, or corrupt OS X Network preferences that needed to be re-set.

Nevertheless, re-seating the airport card, disabling ALL networking in System Preferences, re-booting, and re-enabling - resolved this issue.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2006, 01:16 PM
RobyM RobyM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

I ran into this same issue on my new G5 Dual-core 2.3. OSX would randomly crash in mid-session with this error in the panic log.
I don't have an airport card installed, but I've tried disabling all the network interfaces, and I haven't run into it again...keeping my fingers crossed...is yours fixed completely?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2006, 01:17 PM
RobyM RobyM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

I ran into this same issue on my new G5 Dual-core 2.3. OSX would randomly crash in mid-session with this error in the panic log.
I don't have an airport card installed, but I've tried disabling all the network interfaces, and I haven't run into it again...keeping my fingers crossed...is yours fixed completely?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:48 AM
stuey stuey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: uk computer
Posts: 137
Default Re: DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

yeah that's a point.. See my posts here.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...rt=&PHPSESSID=


Come to think about it, I get less panics when I disable my network.

I have set up a 'No internet' location. This has all ports disabled, bluetooth also disab;ed, I get less problems then.
__________________
Stuart Peck - Music Composer

Mac Intel 2.93Ghz 12 core - 64gb RAM - OS 10.12 - PT 12 HD Native - Lynx Aurora 16 - Lynx Aurora 8 - UAD Quad - Logic, VEP 6
_____

Spark moderator & beta test for Arturia
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2006, 02:36 PM
RobyM RobyM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

If you are still struggling with this - I fixed my problem - turns out it wasn't Digi's fault. I ran an OSX hardware test - and the culprit was a corrupt stick of RAM. Took it out and hey presto - no crashes. Try running the hardware test if you still have the crashing issues.

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:00 PM
Wheeltard Wheeltard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Big Peach
Posts: 323
Default Re: DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

Man,
This scares me somewhat as I've just ponied up mondo (for me, anyway) cash outlay for the 3 gig RAM upgrade for my iMac Intel 20". I bought thru OWC so I'm pretty confident of the product. It's just anytime I open up the guts of my 'puter (especially my PCs) for seemingly minor operations, the fun really begins. And now you track down your panic troubles to defective memory... yowza.

Oh well, I'll find out this weekend when I install 'em. Anybody upgraded their stock RAM in the iMac Intel machines yet? Any sage advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.
Wheels
__________________
www.myspace.com/colmarkwheeler
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2006, 05:19 PM
stuey stuey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: uk computer
Posts: 137
Default Re: DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

I have done many hardware tests, RAM comes out fine, Have done the tests many times. Hasn't come up at all.
Guys say that it has to be RAM, but I can't see a problem when i run th ehardware test. Are there utilities that can test RAM better than the AHT

s
__________________
Stuart Peck - Music Composer

Mac Intel 2.93Ghz 12 core - 64gb RAM - OS 10.12 - PT 12 HD Native - Lynx Aurora 16 - Lynx Aurora 8 - UAD Quad - Logic, VEP 6
_____

Spark moderator & beta test for Arturia
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2007, 06:30 PM
stuey stuey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: uk computer
Posts: 137
Default Re: DigiIO has a funnel lock Panic RestartATTN : DIGI

All sorted... I had one year of Apple telling me it was RAM, I kept on and on, they wouldn't have it, even their resellers thought it was RAM.. I asked for Apple to come and pick it up. It took me to part with £200. I had to get the applecare ( i needed it anyway, so.. maybe this will kick start them into doing womehitng about it) . So what did they find...?
A faulty logic board... Amsys, their repair agent came out, took the machine, 8 days without a studio mac, but now all is clean, no more crashing and smiles all around....
__________________
Stuart Peck - Music Composer

Mac Intel 2.93Ghz 12 core - 64gb RAM - OS 10.12 - PT 12 HD Native - Lynx Aurora 16 - Lynx Aurora 8 - UAD Quad - Logic, VEP 6
_____

Spark moderator & beta test for Arturia
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Mini causes Kernel Panic after 8 months of no issues. Panic Report Included... oneakmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-09-2010 09:52 AM
SYSTEM EXTENSION CANNOT BE USED digiIO.kext rotoman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-02-2008 12:14 PM
Academic 7.3 Causing Kernal Panic On MacPro DIGI!? StrangeBoyPro Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 10-01-2007 05:51 PM
DigiIO has a funnel lock. Whoa momma! fader8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-08-2006 12:11 AM
kernel panic caused by Digi 002 rack oreo1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-18-2006 01:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com