Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2016, 07:41 AM
John Olin John Olin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: 2504 W 10th PL
Posts: 7
Default Assertion error - line 241

When i try to add an insert (eg Expand, EQ, Reverb, etc) to a track, I get the following assertion error:

""

I'm using Pro Tools 12.4.0

My computer is a Dell OptiPlex 7040 i7-6700 with 16GB ram. My interface is a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen. To test the program, I just have one track and I'm working off the c:\ drive (I have an external USB 3.0 drive). I don't think the hardware is the problem.

I believe the problem has something to do with my domain environment. I use roaming profiles. The software was installed while I was logged into my domain (my domain account is in the local admin group). I still get errors when I use my local account (which is also in the admin group).

I really want this to work in a network environment as I need to restrict most the users. It would be nice if a limited user could login & use the software.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2016, 09:45 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,767
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

Hey

Welcome to the Community

Are you running as Admin on the computer? If not then make that change and see if you can run PT without that issue popping up.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2016, 10:52 AM
John Olin John Olin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: 2504 W 10th PL
Posts: 7
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

Thanks.

When I login with my local user account, everything seems to be good except Expand (I think I just need to remove and install it again). But I'd really like to be able to login with my domain account; I've got to imagine that the large studios work in a network type environment (collaboration, control, backup, etc).

When I'm logged into my domain account: The Pro Tools icon has the shield on it. When I go into the properties of the shortcut, it's set to run as administrator. I right-clicked on it & ran it as administrator. I still get the assertion error.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2016, 11:03 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,872
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

What is the exact assertion error?

Was it.. Assertion in "..\ ..\ Sys\ Win32\ Sys_VolumeWin32.cpp", line 241?

If so start by searching for keywords like "Assert", "Sys_VolumeWin32.cpp", and "241" on DUC and Google. You'll find recent posts like this one http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=383903 Here, trying to use non-local user accounts, great when folks post solutions back to DUC like that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2016, 11:23 AM
John Olin John Olin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: 2504 W 10th PL
Posts: 7
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

Yeah that's the error.

I had read that post before posting my post.

The problem is that the solution was to run Pro Tools from a local user account (which I did get to work). I want to be able to run the program from domain user accounts as I want to be able to control my users. Again, I got to believe that the larger studios are using network type environments & there's got to be a way (setting group permissions, ect) to do it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2016, 11:27 AM
John Olin John Olin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: 2504 W 10th PL
Posts: 7
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

Also, all the school labs I've ever seen were network environments. Can Pro Tools not run in a school lab room were the students log into there accounts?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2016, 11:38 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,872
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Olin View Post
Yeah that's the error.

I had read that post before posting my post.

The problem is that the solution was to run Pro Tools from a local user account (which I did get to work). I want to be able to run the program from domain user accounts as I want to be able to control my users. Again, I got to believe that the larger studios are using network type environments & there's got to be a way (setting group permissions, ect) to do it?
It *may* be an impossible problem. Lots of software is broken and assumes local users, or just never tested in real world/complex domain environments (uh I've shipped some :-() . Avid may be in that camp. You should contact Avid customer support and discuss. You might find more help on DUC if you stated a thread asking about your Pro Tools version running in domain environments. It may be as simple as disabling roaming profiles for a user/computer (did you try that), I think that has caused Pro Tools grief in the past.

if it's possible at all Avid should really have documentation about deploying Pro Tools in a domain environment, there are just too many things to dick with. IMNSHO the Pro Tools Installation Guide is getting worse not better....

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-17-2016 at 11:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2016, 11:55 AM
John Olin John Olin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: 2504 W 10th PL
Posts: 7
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

When I started I was having problems all the way around (local and domain accounts). I uninstalled & reinstalled - that seemed to work. Now Xpand just doesn't work, but I think I can fix that also.

I added a local "User" account to the computer. When I use that account I get the assertion error. When I use my account (which is a member of the admin group) I don't have problems. Does that mean that Pro Tools will only run from a local user account that has administrator privileges (not good).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2016, 12:05 PM
John Olin John Olin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: 2504 W 10th PL
Posts: 7
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

I'm new to Pro Tools, but I think it might have something to do with Roaming Profiles which is why I mentioned it in my first post.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2016, 12:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,872
Default Re: Assertion error - line 241

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Olin View Post
I'm new to Pro Tools, but I think it might have something to do with Roaming Profiles which is why I mentioned it in my first post.
Doh, sorry I missed that. Many folks won't see beyond the title of the thread on a forum section, which is why putting a direct question into a thread title can really help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assertion Error in... Line 476 Rowas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-14-2012 09:51 AM
assertion/line 33 error! DAMNBABY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-14-2008 03:56 PM
Assertion Error Line 164, but I've done everything markimola 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-25-2006 07:26 AM
Assertion error in line 478? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 3 03-02-2006 02:03 PM
Mix Plus 6.4.1 Assertion error in line 894 AlliedPost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-30-2004 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com