Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2022, 03:22 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 1,003
Default Preview with Import in GrooveCell?

I just checked out the new GrooveCell, and it does have a solid and versatile feature set. But there seems to be no audition when importing samples. I've checked and cross-checked. This is an absolute game-killer unless you know the sound of every sample in your library. No one has the time to guess-load samples blindly. Until sample audition is included, this plugin is seriously crippled except for preset usage.

Such a great plugin, severely limited by the lack of one major function. Am I entirely missing something here, anyone? I'll stand corrected.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.12| Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2022, 03:31 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,809
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

I don’t have time to install and play with the plugin, but that can’t possibly be right. No one can be THAT daft.

It supports drag and drop so as a workaround, you could just audition the sample using Preview in the macOS Finder window. There must be some equivalent functionality in Windows Explorer window but not really a PC user so I’ll leave that to someone more knowledgeable.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2022, 03:36 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 1,003
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I don’t have time to install and play with the plugin, but that can’t possibly be right. No one can be THAT daft.

It supports drag and drop so as a workaround, you could just audition the sample using Preview in the macOS Finder window. There must be some equivalent functionality in Windows Explorer window but not really a PC user so I’ll leave that to someone more knowledgeable.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I tried drag and drop from the workspace, but it didn't work. Drag n drop only appears to work for exporting samples directly to the PT timeline.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.12| Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins

Last edited by lesbrunn; 04-29-2022 at 03:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2022, 08:39 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

If Groovecell is too limited check out TAL-Drum. On introductory sale and not tied to a subscription.

https://tal-software.com/products/tal-drum
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2022, 09:11 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,809
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
I tried drag and drop from the workspace, but it didn't work. Drag n drop only appears to work for exporting samples directly to the PT timeline.

I meant drag and drop from a macOS Finder window or Windows Explorer window.

I gave up on PT’s workspace about 20 years ago.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2022, 10:20 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 1,003
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I meant drag and drop from a macOS Finder window or Windows Explorer window.

I gave up on PT’s workspace about 20 years ago.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I've tried all that. It doesn't work. Drag n drop isn't properly implemented.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.12| Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2022, 10:26 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 1,003
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
If Groovecell is too limited check out TAL-Drum. On introductory sale and not tied to a subscription.

https://tal-software.com/products/tal-drum
Thanks for the link. I also have Battery 4, but my goto lately has been Speedrum, which does all I need. All the same, you know how it is with boys and brand new toys... The feature set in GrooveCell is so promising.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.12| Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2022, 10:35 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 1,003
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
If Groovecell is too limited check out TAL-Drum. On introductory sale and not tied to a subscription.

https://tal-software.com/products/tal-drum
Thanks again! Tal-Drum looks really good! I'll take it for a test run.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.12| Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-29-2022, 10:52 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,809
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
I've tried all that. It doesn't work. Drag n drop isn't properly implemented.

This video looks like they’re dragging samples from a Finder window into Groove Cell.

https://youtu.be/XBifu1RnZfw


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2022, 08:55 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: GrooveCell Limitations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
Thanks again! Tal-Drum looks really good! I'll take it for a test run.
It seems really well though out with useful features.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
preview not working in 'Import Audio' tonejunkee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-22-2009 11:41 AM
Import window audio preview bug NickFLZ Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-29-2007 02:26 PM
Import preview not working. Droog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-02-2007 02:47 PM
Import Audio Preview - no sound *Ed Solman* 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-23-2003 02:19 PM
Import Audio - No preview :(( Sofine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-28-2002 02:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com