Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2021, 09:16 AM
Nige78 Nige78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northallerton, England
Posts: 13
Default Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

I'm currently running Pro Tools 8 LE on Windows 7 with a DigiDesign 002 interface.

Much as I love it, and it works for my needs it is getting slower and slower and clearly the time has come for me to upgrade. I've started researching the latest hardware and I'm overwhelmed tbf.

Please can someone recommend a simple system that will meet my basic requirements. I plan to get a new PC but which version of Pro Tools and which DAW?

I've never used more than 8 inputs at once for recording so I'm happy to stick with that limit, and I only really records guitars, bass, drums, keyboard and vocals. I've never used Midi but would like to learn at some point possibly.

Any help greatly appreciated. Not sure if it makes any difference but I'm in the UK.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2021, 10:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,271
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

#1-don't buy any PC from any place that doesn't build "DAW-specific" machines. Pro-tools-pc.com is one vendor that specializes in PT-compatible computers.(pretty sure you have some other options in the UK, too)
#2-Any new PC will come with Windows 10, so you will need to go with the current version of PT(or very recent like PT12 and newer).
#3-Since version 9 of Pro Tools, almost any interface will work, but 3rd party will almost always include some kind of routing/monitoring software. This will probably be a PITA to configure, but once its done, you should not have to revisit again(but I suggest saving screen captures of the proper settings)
#4-If you can afford the option of Thunderbolt on your new PC, get it. It gives you more options for interfaces and its much faster than USB(for lower latency while recording).
#5-options for 8 inputs are plenty. Focusrite and Presonus are plenty good. RME are better(and they seem to have the best drivers)
#6-Pro Tools or other? If you have old sessions you want to remix, then it makes sense to stick with Pro Tools. If you don't need to revisit old projects, Cubase and Studio One are worth a look, as is Reaper. If you don't mind the learning curve, any modern DAW is very capable. I stay with PT because I like the way it works, but you don't have to(unless you collaborate with other Pro Tools users a lot)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2021, 10:36 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,155
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nige78 View Post
...recommend a simple system that will meet my basic requirements. I plan to get a new PC but which version of Pro Tools...
Desktop or laptop? Budget? Windows 10, latest version of Pro Tools, do all AVID recommended system optimizations.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2021, 11:39 AM
Nige78 Nige78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northallerton, England
Posts: 13
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Desktop or laptop? Budget? Windows 10, latest version of Pro Tools, do all AVID recommended system optimizations.
Due to my relative minimal requirements I'm aiming at the budget end of things, but definitely planing on a desktop and to stick with PT.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2021, 12:38 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,155
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nige78 View Post
Due to my relative minimal requirements I'm aiming at the budget end of things, but definitely planing on a desktop and to stick with PT.
16GB RAM min. Intel i7 10th gen or better. (Many use Ryzen, but I'm not knowledgeable on the Ryzen line.) More RAM and 11th gen i7 (or i9) if budget allows.

Take boot drive images as you go along - (Macrium Reflect free version works, or similar). Uninstall all bloatware. Go through all Windows settings (and basically turn all off). There's lots of guides and YouTube videos to help with bloatware & Win setup. Kill all unnecessary startup items. All AVID recommended optimizations. All Windows 10 updates. Latest versions of Pro Tools, plugs, iLok, & audio I/O drivers. Carefully do all these setup steps once, and you should be good to go.

This one's pretty cheap:
https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/desk...xd8940msreqwoh
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2021, 03:21 AM
Nige78 Nige78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northallerton, England
Posts: 13
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
16GB RAM min. Intel i7 10th gen or better. (Many use Ryzen, but I'm not knowledgeable on the Ryzen line.) More RAM and 11th gen i7 (or i9) if budget allows.

Take boot drive images as you go along - (Macrium Reflect free version works, or similar). Uninstall all bloatware. Go through all Windows settings (and basically turn all off). There's lots of guides and YouTube videos to help with bloatware & Win setup. Kill all unnecessary startup items. All AVID recommended optimizations. All Windows 10 updates. Latest versions of Pro Tools, plugs, iLok, & audio I/O drivers. Carefully do all these setup steps once, and you should be good to go.

This one's pretty cheap:
https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/desk...xd8940msreqwoh
Thanks I will have a look at something like that, although tbh it was more the non-PC hardware side of things I really need help with. Basically a recommendation for a small mixing desk with 8 inputs?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2021, 10:55 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,155
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nige78 View Post
... a recommendation for a small mixing desk with 8 inputs?
Analog mixer? Audio interface? Control surface?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2021, 03:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,271
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

Skip a mixer. Get a decent interface.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2021, 05:38 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,708
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

Personally, RME with their TotalMix and ARC USB Controller.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-15-2021, 03:09 AM
Nige78 Nige78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northallerton, England
Posts: 13
Default Re: Upgrade help from Digi Design 002.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Analog mixer? Audio interface? Control surface?
Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Skip a mixer. Get a decent interface.
I'm shamed to say that I don't actually know the difference.

What would my current Digi Design 002 count as?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi Design 001 conniewhitlock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-09-2009 11:15 PM
How can you contact digi design? miha78 Tips & Tricks 2 11-15-2006 09:27 PM
digi design need to... 16yearsjeff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-14-2003 01:39 PM
Digi Design 001 with XP or.. P-Loc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-21-2002 05:22 AM
HOW CAN DIGI DESIGN....... toadiesXJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 26 08-06-2002 10:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com