Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2013, 09:06 AM
russrags russrags is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 83
Default USB3 Problem

UncleMonkey are you around???

I built a new computer just like yours and I am LOving it. Had to work a few kinks out with my set up, but it's going strong, except for one thing.

The USB3 jacks on the front of the tower aren't being recognized by my drives. I don't know if the connections on the back work, as I haven't tried them. I'm certain the cabling is right on the motherboard.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.


Russ
Nashville
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2013, 08:42 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,602
Default Re: USB3 Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by russrags View Post
UncleMonkey are you around???

I built a new computer just like yours and I am LOving it. Had to work a few kinks out with my set up, but it's going strong, except for one thing.

The USB3 jacks on the front of the tower aren't being recognized by my drives. I don't know if the connections on the back work, as I haven't tried them. I'm certain the cabling is right on the motherboard.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.


Russ
Nashville
Not sure if you received an answer yet, but if you post a SANDRA, maybe someone else who has the same board could help.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)

TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2013, 12:21 PM
russrags russrags is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 83
Default Re: USB3 Problem

Hey Russ,

I think what you need to do, is check for an updated Driver. What Chris said, is a good idea, but PLEASE be sure you pay attention while your downloading and installing the Sandra Report, as they will certainly try and trick you into installing a bunch of other CRAP which is certain to screw you up.

I can't wait to hear what you do with your new computer, your mixes always amaze me, your sooooo talented.

PS.

I'm not trying to come on to you, but I think your really good looking too.


Good Luck
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2013, 12:23 PM
russrags russrags is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 83
Default Re: USB3 Problem

Well thank you, you secret admirer you, your idea worked and I'm rocking out now.

Listen I don't mind you coming on to me, sometimes I just want to jump back and kiss myself too.

Merry Christmas

Russ
Nashville
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2013, 12:50 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: USB3 Problem

Classic
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2013, 05:28 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,800
Default Re: USB3 Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by russrags View Post
UncleMonkey are you around???

I built a new computer just like yours and I am LOving it. Had to work a few kinks out with my set up, but it's going strong, except for one thing.

The USB3 jacks on the front of the tower aren't being recognized by my drives. I don't know if the connections on the back work, as I haven't tried them. I'm certain the cabling is right on the motherboard.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.


Russ
Nashville
Should verify you have the front panel usb headers plugged in. The USB3 cables coming off of them will not fit in a usb2 socket, it requires an adapter. otherwise, as said, you need to intall the driver. Usb3 drivers are not installed with the intel plaform drivers like usb2 is. You can go to your motherboard brands website and they will have all the drivers you need.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox3 and USB3.0 Weird dhkkorea 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-24-2013 01:44 PM
Mbox USB3 issues samtherobot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-09-2013 01:55 AM
Focusrite usb3 drivers chaotix Windows 2 11-25-2011 09:23 AM
Usb3 ? cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-28-2008 07:28 PM
MACBOOK PRO with USB3 cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-09-2008 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com