Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:01 AM
CoolWhip CoolWhip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Default Popping Problem...

I've recently come across a weird glitch that is driving me insane. When bouncing songs or even playing them back, a very noticeable popping noise can be heard all over the place. It isn't the audio files, because when playing the tune back the pops are different every time. They come whenever i bounce a file and stay for the next ten minutes or so during playback. As soon as i try to bounce the next file, though, they are back for another ten minutes or so. Weird...

I'm running a 2.0 Ghz Macbook with 2GB RAM, and bouncing has never given me any problems in the past. Has anyone else experienced this problem, or (better yet!) know how to fix it? Thanks!

Jordan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:34 AM
Zoejian Zoejian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Popping Problem...

Are you running anything digitally into your Digi hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2006, 08:46 AM
CoolWhip CoolWhip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Popping Problem...

Nope, nothing digitally. I've even removed all of the xlrs and 1/4s running into the box when bouncing, and it still gives the same popping noises...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2006, 09:24 AM
Bugly Bugly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default Re: Popping Problem...

Hi,
Are you converting the sample rate or bit depth when you bounce?
If so, are you checking the "Convert after playback" box in the "Bounce to disc" menu?
Definitely sounds like a clock problem....
good luck
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2006, 09:36 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Popping Problem...

Have you tried all the steps in the OS X Setup and General Troubleshooting thread yet?

One thing that is suspect would be your RAM - this problem has been reported by other people who have had bad RAM modules.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2006, 09:44 AM
CoolWhip CoolWhip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Popping Problem...

No, i'm not converting it at all, just bouncing it in the exact same format (24bit, 88.2khz). Yes, i've gone through the troubleshooting tips, and i've had 2GB of RAM installed for some time now with no problems. I'm only using about 1.3 GB of it, though. The song i'm trying to bounce at the moment only contains nine mono tracks with a few plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2006, 09:51 AM
Bugly Bugly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default Re: Popping Problem...

I have never run a session at 88.2k
most users I know run at 48k 24Bit
Seeing as the session is not that big... You could try....
"Save session copy in" convert the whole session to 48k
and see how it behaves.... if you could be bothered, that is.
not sure it will fix your prob, but I would try it.
cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2006, 09:53 AM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Popping Problem...

I ran into this problem once with a higher sample rate session. I found that I couldn't get anything to bounce for more than about 3 minutes from a 96k session. To test it, I saved a copy and converted the sample rate down to 48k. From that session, it bounced fine with no pops and clicks. But since I was working with 96k source material I ended up just using the old "bounce to an audio track" method, then exported the region as a file.

***and for what it's worth I tested the sound of the recorded file and the bounced file and the only sonic difference were the pops and clicks, complete cancellation when phase reversed otherwise***
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-29-2006, 10:48 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Popping Problem...

Which Digidesign hardware are you using? What type of drive are your audio files on?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-30-2006, 01:12 AM
CoolWhip CoolWhip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Popping Problem...

002R, and my files are stored on a seagate 300gb external drive that is daisy-chained firewire to the interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stutter effect popping problem Danny Winn Tips & Tricks 6 09-08-2013 12:40 PM
Constant popping and Amplitube problem please help ganderpander macOS 1 05-15-2012 01:29 PM
ok... wtf? playback engine, and buffer size, crack/popping problem.. but weirder oosurf08oo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-06-2009 02:42 PM
Popping!! themachinesneverdie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-19-2006 10:27 AM
big problem-popping sound in audio jmallen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-09-2004 09:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com