Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2004, 06:18 PM
ludaben ludaben is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 15
Default Will PTLE 5 or 6 run on a Dell Pentium 4 with XP?

I have a Dell Pentium 4 with 1.79 gHz, and OS XP and 128 MB of RAM. I just purchased PTLE 5.2.1 and PTLE 6 with the mBox and I am wondering if it will run well on this computer.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2004, 06:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,545
Default Re: Will PTLE 5 or 6 run on a Dell Pentium 4 with XP?

The system may run PT, but ONLY IF you up the RAM. 128 meg is not enough to run Windows XP, never mind PRoTools. You need at least 512meg of RAM. Also, you MUST have service pack 1 installed. DO NOT install service pack 2 yet.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2004, 07:44 PM
6969 6969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 873
Default Re: Will PTLE 5 or 6 run on a Dell Pentium 4 with XP?

Check out the chipset. I have a DELL 1.7 with an 845 D chipset and that works.

DJ
__________________
6969
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a Pentium Powerhouse for PTLE Allen Hallada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 98 11-12-2006 12:39 PM
PTLE 6.4 w/Pentium D not working noSleep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-28-2006 08:06 PM
Will PTLE 5 or 6 run on a Dell Pentium 4 with XP? ludaben 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-15-2004 01:57 PM
I still have not located a computer system? how would a dell with pentium 4 work finalcut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-01-2002 12:57 AM
PTLE & Pentium 4? dhn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-30-2001 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com