Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2013, 06:48 PM
barrel90 barrel90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cranston
Posts: 21
Default Low Latency monitoring

I solved my recording delay while monitoring problem by changing the buffer size to 64 samples.
My question is, when recording at low latency setting, does it effect the recording quality? if so, will changing it to a higher buffer setting correct the quality?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2013, 07:03 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Low Latency monitoring

Quote:
Originally Posted by barrel90 View Post
I solved my recording delay while monitoring problem by changing the buffer size to 64 samples.
My question is, when recording at low latency setting, does it effect the recording quality? if so, will changing it to a higher buffer setting correct the quality?
No, lower buffer settings don't affect audio quality.

Chris
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2013, 08:17 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,694
Default Re: Low Latency monitoring

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
No, lower buffer settings don't affect audio quality.

Chris
Agreed^^^with the following exception; if the computer is under powered and you start hearing clicks, pops or other obvious digital "crap" while tracking. But, having said that, I do all my recording at the 64 buffer and have no issues(but I do have a well built/tweaked computer). If I get to a stage of mix where I have lots of plugins and such that I can't run at 64, I bounce a quick ruff mix, import it to the session, line it up with the rest, make most tracks inactive and record(doing this allows me to use the 64 buffer, even though the session may have 100 tracks and dozens of plugins. It also removes latency of ADC compensating for high-latency plugins, which I normally leave inactive during tracking anyway)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2013, 11:42 AM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,242
Default Re: Low Latency monitoring

It doesn't bother me now that I am used to it, but I can still hear the latency at 64 samples. It may be barely perceptible but it is there. Good thing I can live with it:)
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2013, 08:01 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Low Latency monitoring

Quote:
Originally Posted by graveleye View Post
It doesn't bother me now that I am used to it, but I can still hear the latency at 64 samples. It may be barely perceptible but it is there. Good thing I can live with it:)
Yes, I can tell - especially when playing guitar. It's better than the days when I could only go down to 128. I run at 32 most of the time now and you can barely tell there's any latency. I go up to 256 for big mix sessions, but the latency isn't an issue when mixing.

Chris
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2013, 06:05 AM
Jimibrix Jimibrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nowhere, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Low Latency monitoring

What is everyone's Latency settings in the playback engine? I'm not talikng about 64, 128 or those settings, but is your Latency box checked? Delay compensation at max or min? What's a good sample rate for the latency settings? And the cache, is that 4Gb, 6Gb, etc... What's everybody's settings? Other than upping for mixing and lowering for tracking that is, I mean there are more settings in the playback engine. Streaming for audio checked?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lowest latency without "low latency monitoring" ? music project 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-11-2010 08:40 AM
Zero Latency Monitoring for 002/003 Rob Holsman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 05-11-2010 08:37 AM
Low Latency Monitoring in 8.0.3 rhendee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-08-2010 07:48 PM
Low Latency Monitoring RaySoul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-05-2009 03:49 PM
zero latency monitoring!! jayq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-26-2006 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com