Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2013, 09:51 AM
Jimibrix Jimibrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nowhere, USA
Posts: 106
Default Beat Detective

Hi everyone. Trying to use 'Beat Detective' but it keeps telling me 'Can not be generated while in manual tempo mode'... Does anyone know what this means? I just want to align it with the click track. I'm looking all over the grid, tempo, etc... How do I change it so that I can use Beat Detective? Automation has no switch for tempo to make it auto or otherwise... Any help with this would be appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2013, 10:48 AM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Beat Detective

What you're looking for is called 'Tempo Rule Enable' I believe. It's on page 190 of the 'reference manual' - Here`s the info.

Tempo Ruler Enable (Conductor) When selected,
Pro Tools uses the tempo map defined in the
Tempo ruler. When deselected, Pro Tools
switches to Manual Tempo mode and ignores
the Tempo ruler.
In Manual Tempo mode, you can enter a BPM
value in the tempo field, or tap in the tempo with
the T key on your alphanumeric keyboard.

Good luck, don`t be afraid to use the search function from the help menu for some things. You`d be surprised what you`ll find.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2013, 06:01 AM
Jimibrix Jimibrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nowhere, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Beat Detective

Thank you Doctor! I got it, using it... and it IS awesome! I'm not a drummer so playing keeping in time to the click track is in and out, (most probably wouldn't notice, but I do). I need certain things to be TIGHT! And now they are. Once you use it and get to know it, it's very easy! Thanks again for the info.
~Jimi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2013, 06:03 AM
Jimibrix Jimibrix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nowhere, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Beat Detective

I actually found some tutorials on Youtube which were a huge help. And it's all very easy and user friendly...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2013, 06:19 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Beat Detective

Jimi,

Glad I could help, youtube is a great source. My personal favorites when I started were therecordingrevolution, and puremixtutorials. As you get more confident, don't forget about the 'reference manual'. More often than not, when I'm looking for an answer; not only do I find it, I learn something new.

Enjoy
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beat Detective/Quantize Swing Beat anackman macOS 1 10-15-2012 07:10 AM
Tempo mapping Beat Detective or identify beat? grateful 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-14-2012 09:13 PM
Grid and Bar/Beat Markers scrambled and disabled after using Beat Detective!! Robbry Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-24-2010 02:14 PM
what do grid lines do after beat detective bar-beat markers cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-22-2007 09:34 AM
Beat Detective, Beat markers to Tempo Ruler?!? phobia Tips & Tricks 3 01-01-2007 01:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com