Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2005, 08:12 AM
mike_k mike_k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default can you use pitchshift on vocals?

does anyone know if there is a way to use pitch shift on vocals to create harmonys? ive tried a few times with a couple differnt settings on the effect and havent noticed any difference.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2005, 08:50 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: can you use pitchshift on vocals?

Pitch Shift (digidesign) is an audiosuite plug-in. You have to process the region.
Control+Alt copy to a track below the original, change the pitch of the copy by something musical, ie. +3, or +5 semitones.
You can do it Real Time with waves or Melodyne. Both have presets for harmony.
Melodyne is excellent for vocal changing.
check out their demo on the site.
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:36 AM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: can you use pitchshift on vocals?

Do a search in the windows forum on doubling (that is what you mean, yes?). There were some very informative threads in there a few months ago.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2005, 12:10 PM
yOkO yOkO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: aztekland
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: can you use pitchshift on vocals?

hi mike, you should chek waves 6 voice pitch shift,
the only think i'll recomend, is not going out of vocal range,
and think it's not diatonical harmony (like evntide ultra)
so if you have, C D E F, and you go minor third
pitch shift, it would be Eb F G Ab, so if your harmony is Cmajor
it'll sound like [bleep]
anyway if you have time and money, the real thing, million times better
__________________
so what
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
realtime pitchshift with automation Patrick' Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 07-07-2008 04:38 PM
pitchshift in PT6.4 slrobinson83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-23-2005 08:12 PM
Chorus And Pitchshift... Only Audiosuite? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-05-2005 09:37 AM
Pitchshift Bass Pop duanebonney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-08-2004 07:31 AM
PitchShift question Willmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-05-2001 06:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com