Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2019, 08:27 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 516
Default Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update 2.3.0.1?
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, MacBook Pro 16 (2023) 96 GB RAM, Mac OS Ventura, Samsung SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2019, 11:05 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,188
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

It's pretty simple.
In DADman, go to Settings > Device List

Find the unit you want to upgrade in the center section and click on it
Right click on it now and choose the last option "Firmware Update"
Select "File"
Point to new firmware

Then follow the onscreen instructions. (it will ask to reboot itself and you click yes)

If you have the Dante module, that is done separately with its own program (found in the Brooklyn ReleaseII firmware download)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2019, 11:10 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 516
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

Thanks! Also found it at:

http://www.digitalaudio.dk
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, MacBook Pro 16 (2023) 96 GB RAM, Mac OS Ventura, Samsung SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2023, 06:45 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 761
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

I'm going nuts!

I updated the MTRX firmware, but not I can't find the update tool for the Dante firmware. Looked all over the audinate site...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2023, 07:02 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,846
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
I'm going nuts!

I updated the MTRX firmware, but not I can't find the update tool for the Dante firmware. Looked all over the audinate site...
Hey man, I think it's in the Dante Controller itself. After you have the file in there. Launch the tab that says Dante Updater and click on that icon I believe. It should open if I remember and it shows you all of your Dante Devices. I think it's there.
G
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2024.3 Ultimate, MTRXII-TB3, DADMAN MOM, Cisco SG350-10MP EthernetHUB, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra,128 RAM/4TB SSD, Ventura 13.6.6, DP 11.3.1, Logic Pro X 10.8.1 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2023, 07:11 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 761
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

Yeah, I see that in the updater, but the update device button on the bottom right is greyed out and it say to contact manufacturer.

I remember in the past we had a firmware loader app for the Dante card firmware.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2023, 07:27 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,846
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
Yeah, I see that in the updater, but the update device button on the bottom right is greyed out and it say to contact manufacturer.

I remember in the past we had a firmware loader app for the Dante card firmware.

Q do you need the update? Jeff Komar told me it was not necessary, but that was a while ago. It is a silly way to update this thing. I did mine a couple of years ago, so I just can't remember what I did as I was setting up a ton of things at one time. Avid needs to be more instructional on a lot of these things, LIKE posted when there is an update for MTRX. I think there was like 2 firmware updates for the MTRX in the span of a month or two and I only got info when I just randomly went and checked my account for something and discovered them.
Audtinate is up here in Portland and I have a connect there, so I'll see what I can find out tomorrow, but email. them and their support seems to ge on it quickly.
https://www.audinate.com/contact/support

G
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2024.3 Ultimate, MTRXII-TB3, DADMAN MOM, Cisco SG350-10MP EthernetHUB, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra,128 RAM/4TB SSD, Ventura 13.6.6, DP 11.3.1, Logic Pro X 10.8.1 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2023, 07:36 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 761
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

The only reason I'm bothering to update is because Audinate tech support was trying to help me get DVS working with the built in 10Gb port on the 2019/2020 MacPro. Back when I bought it, it wasn't supported, so I've been using a 1Gb adapter, but I'd like to not use that anymore (for various reasons).

Audinate tech support wouldn't help unless I was running the latest version of everything Dante-related. I'll just ask them tomorrow about the b Brooklyn II update.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2023, 08:26 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,846
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
The only reason I'm bothering to update is because Audinate tech support was trying to help me get DVS working with the built in 10Gb port on the 2019/2020 MacPro. Back when I bought it, it wasn't supported, so I've been using a 1Gb adapter, but I'd like to not use that anymore (for various reasons).

Audinate tech support wouldn't help unless I was running the latest version of everything Dante-related. I'll just ask them tomorrow about the b Brooklyn II update.
That is interesting to me because I am in the same boat and after chatting with them about the same thing since I needed to update to a much better, faster Ethernet Hub. The on that Audinate btw HAD been recommending, is fine, but there are many newer ones and Audinate or my contact there said that any managed hub is just fine which are many, but said I should just find one that is not crazy expensive just because it's newer. I opted for the 10 port hub since my needs are not that large, but also have a brand new Mac Studio and have been having real issue with the older Ubiquity Unify Switch 8, which is not even Avid approved, but it was all I could get my hands on during the Covid debacle. I was in the process of upgrading my room back in 2021 to ATMO and had jsut purchased an MTRX system and everything is running fine, but now realize with the new Mac Studio I need better speed and a couple of colleagues said they think this new port should definitely help. I also hear there is Brooklyn III eminent when I did the Dante Controller update also? Not sure what that means either. I will send them a support email as well, but I guess I need to update the Brooklyn II as well. Adding attachment in Dante Controlle Update that shows the upcoming Brooklyn III device type hardware.
G
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DanteControllerUpate.jpg (42.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2024.3 Ultimate, MTRXII-TB3, DADMAN MOM, Cisco SG350-10MP EthernetHUB, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra,128 RAM/4TB SSD, Ventura 13.6.6, DP 11.3.1, Logic Pro X 10.8.1 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS

Last edited by gives; 02-03-2023 at 08:36 AM. Reason: Added attachment
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2023, 09:31 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 761
Default Re: Where are the installation instructions for MTRX firmware update?

Just to be clear, technically he just told me to update Dante Controller to the most recent version. I decided to update the rest, just in case they come back again with "I still can't help you unless you update".

He did say being on Caltalina was fine, although not officially in the supported OS list anymore.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Module Firmware message after 3.7 update WildHoney Avid S4/S6 1 10-21-2017 11:28 AM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 03:57 PM
Mojo Installation Instructions edison Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 02-08-2012 09:11 AM
Update only works on Installation...cannot perform installation on Win7 xRollinx Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 02-12-2010 07:35 PM
Firmware Update HELP. My 003 Rack will not update Firmware. New003RackUser 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-17-2007 09:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com