Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2020, 04:07 AM
Tsen Ru Tsen Ru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Default Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

I have a hundred or so one-shot hi-hats (each as a separate clip on one single Audio track), and would like to slightly randomise the volume of each (by maybe 5%) so that it feels more human. Is there an easy way to do this, without modifying the volume of each clip separately?

The effect I am after is similar to that which can be achieved using MIDI velocity randomisation

PT12.8
Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2020, 04:11 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,746
Default Re: Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsen Ru View Post
I have a hundred or so one-shot hi-hats (each as a separate clip on one single Audio track), and would like to slightly randomise the volume of each (by maybe 5%) so that it feels more human. Is there an easy way to do this, without modifying the volume of each clip separately?

The effect I am after is similar to that which can be achieved using MIDI velocity randomisation

PT12.8
Windows 10
So why not just randomise the velocity then? That would more closely follow what a real drummer does.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2020, 04:14 AM
Tsen Ru Tsen Ru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
So why not just randomise the velocity then? That would more closely follow what a real drummer does.
Can that be done in bulk with one-shot audio clips (ie. not MIDI)?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2020, 04:39 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,746
Default Re: Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsen Ru View Post
Can that be done in bulk with one-shot audio clips (ie. not MIDI)?
Not natively that I know of; maybe a script or drawing in volume automation would work.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2020, 04:35 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 330
Default Re: Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

Hm, if they have a common length that fits on a grid it's not a problem at all. Switch the grid to the length of the clips, put them all on one track with "Timeline drop order left to right". Work in grid mode, show the volume automation line and use the pencil tool in random mode. The up and down movement of the pencil sets the maximum amount.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2020, 08:01 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,154
Default Re: Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

To me, this is not the ideal way to do it. Things to consider:
1-using midi to replace a hihat seems like a better option(using a drum VI such
as Superior Drummer 3)
2-random is not really what you want. Its more likely that you actually need 3-
4 levels at most to cover normal player dynamics.
3-were all your 100 or so hits played by a person? If not(and they are all
exactly the same volume), then I would start over and record a person
playing.
4-how about loading some hits into a sample player(Structure?), and
playing/triggering with a midi controller where you can play with dynamics?
5-since there's usually 4 ways to anything in digital, what's the end goal?
Maybe there's another method that would get the desired results
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2020, 05:05 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,049
Default Re: Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

You could grab the triangle version of the pencil tool and draw in a quick volume automation.
__________________
HP Z2 Xeon 6 Core, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D Win10, PT ver.. Latest
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2020, 02:47 PM
Tsen Ru Tsen Ru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
To me, this is not the ideal way to do it. Things to consider:
1-using midi to replace a hihat seems like a better option(using a drum VI such
as Superior Drummer 3)
2-random is not really what you want. Its more likely that you actually need 3-
4 levels at most to cover normal player dynamics.
3-were all your 100 or so hits played by a person? If not(and they are all
exactly the same volume), then I would start over and record a person
playing.
4-how about loading some hits into a sample player(Structure?), and
playing/triggering with a midi controller where you can play with dynamics?
5-since there's usually 4 ways to anything in digital, what's the end goal?
Maybe there's another method that would get the desired results
Thanks for this.

It might require a bit of rework on the current project I'm working on, but it seems like getting the sounds into MIDI might be the best workflow for me moving forward. I have a MPD218 that includes MPC essentials plugin, so can add the drum sounds to give efficient control over features such as velocity and volume.

Appreciate everyone's advice!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2020, 06:43 PM
Tsen Ru Tsen Ru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Bulk randomise volume of audio clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonopolis View Post
Hm, if they have a common length that fits on a grid it's not a problem at all. Switch the grid to the length of the clips, put them all on one track with "Timeline drop order left to right". Work in grid mode, show the volume automation line and use the pencil tool in random mode. The up and down movement of the pencil sets the maximum amount.
Thanks for this - was pretty much what i was looking for!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Randomise MIDI events crazy_ow Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-11-2013 11:37 AM
Please help, time saving tips for bulk audio files east3rdst Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-19-2006 05:50 PM
Please help, time saving tips for bulk audio files east3rdst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-19-2006 05:04 PM
Please help, time saving tips for bulk audio files east3rdst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-19-2006 03:50 PM
Deleting unused audio - in bulk! RichNott 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-12-2005 03:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com