Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2014, 07:07 PM
clarkchaz1988 clarkchaz1988 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 16
Default cracking an popping on plugins with pt 11

I'm coming from 8.05 and just downloaded the pt 11 trial. When ever I load a plugin such as xpand or boom i get this static and cracking sound when I play notes. I know it has something to do with the audio engine because when ever I adjust the buffer to 1024 it goes away. In 8.05 I was running smooth for years with the buffer at 512 and 256 occasionally and never ran out of cpu power or anything when using plugins ,granted I was running on 8 gigs of ram as opposed to 4( one of memory sticks just died on me). I did all the optimizations but to no avail.When I'm playing back audio from a old session, pt 11 does just find and I load channel strips and everything with no issues but the vi's just aren't working for me.


SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Owner-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : GigaByte P67A-UD4-B3
Chassis : GigaByte Desktop
Mainboard : GigaByte P67A-UD4-B3
BIOS : Award (OEM) F3 03/31/2011
Total Memory : 4GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz (4C 3.69GHz, 3.7GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 6MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1155

Chipset
Memory Controller : Intel Core (Sandy Bridge) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 4GB DIMM DDR3 1.33GHz 64-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Corsair CMX8GX3M2A1333C9 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Hewlett Packard HP w2408
(1920x1200, 24.0")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT (12PS3.0, 5VS3.0 561MHz, 256MB DDR3 1.4GHz 128-bit, PCIe 1.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 32MB Cache) : 466GB (E:)
Seagate ST3360320AS (360.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 8MB Cache) : 335GB (C:)
WDC WD5000LMVW-11VEDS3 (500.1GB, USB3/SATA300, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 466GB (G:)
ATAPI iHAS124 B (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (E:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 32MB Cache)
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
My Passport (G:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000LMVW-11VEDS3 (500.1GB, USB3/SATA300, 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 335GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3360320AS (360.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 8MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ ATAPI iHAS124 B (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Gigabyte P67 LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8728F
Audio Device : Gigabyte Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Device : VIA VT1720/4 Envy24PT PCI Multi-Channel Audio Controller
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Cougar Point 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Cougar Point 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Gigabyte 88SE91A3 SATA-600 Controller
USB Controller 1 : Gigabyte Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : Gigabyte Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 3 : VIA VT6212 USB Controller
USB Controller 4 : VIA VT6212 USB Controller
USB Controller 5 : VIA VT6212 USB EHCI Controller
USB Controller 6 : Gigabyte Renesas Electronics USB 3.0 Host Controller
USB Controller 7 : Gigabyte Renesas Electronics USB 3.0 Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : VIA VT6306 VIA Fire II IEEE-1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : D-Link DWA-140 RangeBooster N USB Adapter(rev.B2) (802.11g (ERP), AES-CCMP, 24Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2014, 07:20 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,912
Default Re: cracking an popping on plugins with pt 11

The 'Instruments' are a separate download for PT11.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2014, 07:27 PM
clarkchaz1988 clarkchaz1988 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 16
Default Re: cracking an popping on plugins with pt 11

I know and when I load xpand on a instrument track it'll play fine and I can record a couple of instrument tracks and get some melodies going then i'l load another plugin and the system starts making the plugins sound sluggish and I hear this cracking sound whenever i hit a note.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2014, 10:52 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,658
Default Re: cracking an popping on plugins with pt 11

1) Your RAM is Dual Channel and to take advantage of that, you need 2 matching sticks.

2) The minimum RAM requirement for Pro Tools 11 is 8 gb and 16 is preferred.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2014, 11:07 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: cracking an popping on plugins with pt 11

Yes memory is clearly suspect. Also I hope you are only using the WDC My Passport drive for backup or archiving, those drives are toxic for Pro Tools audio/session use.

Is your system fully optimized? Done every last thing? Disabled WiFi etc? Do them all for now, exactly as documented regardless if how silly seeming or inconvenient.

You may have ignore errors set in the playback engine settings, once you fix the memory (and Disk?) uncheck that and see what exact errors get thrown if any.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2014, 11:42 AM
clarkchaz1988 clarkchaz1988 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 16
Default Re: cracking an popping on plugins with pt 11

Yeah I have the passport drive for my sample libraries and I've been using my the Western Digital 500 gb for my audio for the last few years. I've done all of the optimizations as well. I'm going to go buy 2 8 gb memory sticks and see how it turns out. I never have the ignore errors box checked and I rarely get errors. So you guys think that my memory is the culprit?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2014, 01:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: cracking an popping on plugins with pt 11

Everybody is telling you your memory is suspect. Nobody can tell you for sure what is causing your problem. Whack the closest mole, and repeat until the problem is cured. Then you tell us what the problem(s) actually was.

Recheck all the optimizations are still properly done.

Regardless of the current problem I would not use those Passport drives for anything besides backup. If they will fit I would replace the system drive with a 1TB Samsung Evo SSD and put samples there.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 07-16-2014 at 12:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools popping and cracking sound. finaly solved LONDIN Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 11 11-29-2012 12:31 PM
Robotic cracking and popping sound. fretcruiser Windows 11 11-04-2012 01:05 PM
Popping and cracking using adat in (003r) geekkiller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-31-2010 04:12 PM
Cracking and extreme noise in LE 7 atomicwave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-19-2007 02:48 PM
GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE coleslaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-24-2002 06:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com