Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2008, 05:11 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,800
Exclamation Plug-in DLL is "not a valid Windows image"

This issue may come up when trying to install plug-ins on a VENUE D-Show system from a download. This only happens when the downloaded plug-in .ZIP files are decompressed with the Apple Archive Utility that comes with OS X Leopard (10.5.x).

This version of the Apple utility creates extra files which the VENUE D-Show software attempts to install as a separate plug-in and which produce the following error (here with SansAmp used as an example):

"The application or DLL C:\Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plug-Ins\._SansAmp PSA-1.dpm is not a valid Windows image. Please check this against your installation diskette."

Suggested workarounds:
  • de-compress using Stuffit Expander on Leopard
  • de-compress the files on a Windows system
By all accounts this used to work on Tiger, so you could also try to find a Mac running OS 10.4 as another alternative.

If the plug-ins are already installed they can also be manually uninstalled. Go to Options > Plug-ins and inspect the installed plug-in list in the right-hand column. Affected plug-ins will be listed twice. Click on each listing... one will display valid version info and the other will not. Right-click on the plug-in listing that has no version info and uninstall it.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2009, 01:44 PM
wopepro wopepro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Thumbs up Re: Plug-in DLL is "not a valid Windows image"

As I also installed all the updates and plug-ins from my mac, I too got this error message. I easily could get rid of this by just deleting all of the hidden files beginning with "._" as these files are created and used from the mac's os. I used the search string "._*" to find all of these files and just deleted all of them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2010, 04:03 PM
!arecord! !arecord! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: Plug-in DLL is "not a valid Windows image"

Thought I might add this to for mac users. To show the hidden files that start with "._" , type this in Terminal:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE

Then use this if you want to turn it off:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles FALSE
__________________
Find new house music and records
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2010, 08:30 AM
Mike Z's Avatar
Mike Z Mike Z is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mountain View
Posts: 109
Default Re: Plug-in DLL is "not a valid Windows image"

just so everyone knows, this issue is resolved in 2.8.1 or higher. D-Show now ignores the "._" files.

-Mike
__________________
Avid Live Sound Support
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Factory Promo UB" - "Eventide" - iLok license - What plug-in is this? Intini Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-31-2012 08:27 PM
002 rack "clicks" and Windows beeps when "Setting Up Midi" or sw0mgt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-03-2012 03:42 PM
Pro Tools (LE to 10) Crossgrade --"Unable to recognize disk image" Tellusall Telos macOS 0 06-19-2012 02:43 PM
Import session data... please break out "plug in settings" and "plug in automation" yeloocevad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 10-05-2011 01:04 PM
"no valid network adaptor is available for video satelite connections " message nachonieto Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 03-30-2009 04:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com