Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2007, 12:38 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Bypassing the preamps

I just had the most wonderful luck of winning a Prism pre-amp! never won anything before, so this is really cool! It arrived today!

The Prism only has XLR connections. How can I use this with the Control 24 (and a 002R) and avoid having to send the signal thru one of the onboard pre's.

In the past with other (and much less expensive) pre's I used Channels 5 - 8 balanced inputs on the 002R, which I've been told are sans pre-amp.

Can I go from XLR to TRS? If so Pin 1 to Tip, 2 to ring, 3 to sleeve?

Thanks
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2007, 01:43 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

just connect the prism to the 002. the C24 preamps have nothing to do with that setup
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2007, 01:57 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

Using the XLR inputs? Won't this still be routing the signal through the onboard Digi pre's on 1 - 4?
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2007, 02:41 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

you're right. I'm sorry. I misunderstood. When you said "How can I use this with the Control 24 (and a 002R) and avoid having to send the signal thru one of the onboard pre's." I took that to mean bypassing the control 24 pres, not the 002. I get it now.

Does the prism have an optical or digital out?

As far as this question: "Can I go from XLR to TRS? If so Pin 1 to Tip, 2 to ring, 3 to sleeve?"

yes you can. however...
  • pin 1 is ground - so it will go to sleeve
    pin 2 is hot - it will go to tip
    pin 3 is neu/cold - it will go to ring
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2007, 04:38 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

The Prism has XLR in and XLR out. I guess they figure if you spent that much $$$ for it, connecting it wouldn't be an issue.

OK, I can make a XLR to TSR. Do you know for fact the the 002 inputs 5 - 8 is a direct in (meaning nothing else in the signal chain... not a DI box/like circuit)?
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2007, 05:16 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

I don't really know about that. I tried to find some info, but can't seem to get it tonight. Maybe someone else can clarify that. I did find this:
  • Analog Inputs 5–8
    These are balanced, 1/4-inch TRS jacks for
    line-level analog audio input connections.
    Operating levels for each of these line-level inputs
    is switchable between +4 dBu and –10 dBV,
    using the Operating Level switches immediately
    to the right of the input jacks.
    While Inputs 5–8 do accept unbalanced connections,
    this may result in a noisier signal than a
    balanced-to-balanced connection. If the devices
    you are connecting to Digi 002 or Digi 002 Rack
    have balanced outputs, be sure to use balanced
    cables for optimal signal-to-noise performance.

I guess that would be the way to hook that up (with your XLR to TRS cable).
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2007, 05:21 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

Yes, I found that too, but nothing about bypass the onboard pre's. I can't imagine I'm the only one to ask this (DIGI... you out there???!!??)

This is how I've used tube pre's... but it would be nice to know if this is the 'preferred" way

Thanks for looking into it!
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-25-2007, 06:18 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 861
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

Hi,
The trs plugs on your 002 are after the mic pre.
If I am understanding you, you want to take the line outs from your new pre, and attach them to the line ins (trs) on the 002.
That will bypass the 002 mic pre's.
You will need an xlr to trs cable....pin 2(tip) hot.
I don't have a 002 in front of me, but don't they have a switch to select pre, line, or instrument?

Hope this helps.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:33 AM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

There is a switch for Mic/Line on 1 - 4, levels are preset at +4dB, but the Gain control still seems to work (acoprding to the Dogi 002 Getting Started manual..) regardless (I think) which would seem to mean (to me) that the pre-amp is still active, The 5 - 6 have no gain control (aside from a +4dB or -10dB), so it would be those channels to use in this instance?

A swimple in/out switch for the pre-amps would have been a nice feature-

I've seen a wiring diagram for XLR to TRS and the ground from the XLR is not connected to the sleeve of the TRS... does that sound right?
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2007, 05:19 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 861
Default Re: Bypassing the preamps

Hi,

The pre amp is not active on the trs input.
The trs comes after the pre.
The gain control being active has nothing to do with the mic pre. It simply becomes a variable control between -10 and +4.
The button simply switches between inputs.
Just remember.....the pre section brings your signal up to line level. That's why the trs comes after the xlr input...it's bypassing the pre amp.
You have to be plugged into the xlr to access the pre.
There are a bunch of real good reasons for this.

Good luck
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bypassing mbox 3 preamps Lonefse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-17-2011 05:21 PM
Bypassing mbox preamps brian4411 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-02-2008 10:19 PM
Bypassing mbox preamps Denes Pagan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-19-2007 09:55 AM
Bypassing mbox preamps Denes Pagan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-19-2007 07:52 AM
bypassing 001 preamps djc8902 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 01-20-2004 08:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com