Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2021, 12:26 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,358
Default Windows 11

Windows 11: What We Know About Microsoft’s Likely Next OS
https://www.tomshardware.com/feature...ything-we-know

Windows 11 leak reveals new UI, Start menu, and more
https://www.theverge.com/2021/6/15/2...ots-start-menu

Windows 11 has leaked, and it looks a lot like Windows 10X
https://www.engadget.com/windows-11-...195643253.html

Windows 11 release date: When can we expect the next version of Windows?
https://www.windowscentral.com/windows-11-release-date
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.6 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.3 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2021, 09:49 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,622
Default Re: Windows 11

I'll certainly try it - with an image backup so I can get back to a working setup if something goes south in 15 to 20 minutes. albee will have a clone in a sled.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2021, 11:44 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,827
Default Re: Windows 11

I’ll try it about two “point” updates AFTER AVID says it’s compatible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2021, 12:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,871
Default Re: Windows 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I'll certainly try it - with an image backup so I can get back to a working setup if something goes south in 15 to 20 minutes. albee will have a clone in a sled.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2021, 01:00 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,789
Default Re: Windows 11

Looks cool. I'll try it day 1, but on a laptop - not the main PC.

I wish MS would have kept up with the Windows Phone and integration between Phone, Computer, and Surface.

AirDropping and Continuity is just so easy with iPhone, iPad, and Mac. Which comes in handy when video editing or recording on the iPad/phone first and moving over to a full computer.

I wish there was a way to airdrop to Windows without workarounds.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2021, 04:15 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,622
Default Re: Windows 11

Try Your Phone and Link To Windows.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2021, 10:45 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: Windows 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I'll certainly try it - with an image backup so I can get back to a working setup if something goes south in 15 to 20 minutes. albee will have a clone in a sled.
Sound advice !!

I'll wait for the Media Creation Tool to upgrade Windows 10 to Windows 11 with all files intact - so I can keep using my Axiom Pro 49 in Windows 11:

https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=...2&postcount=22
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.6 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.3 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2021, 10:24 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,789
Default Re: Windows 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Try Your Phone and Link To Windows.
Not quiet the same thing unfortunately.

Samsung is still working on Quick Share and Google has Nearby Share, hopefully Windows can natively integrate this. The Pixels are really nice phones as are the Note series.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2021, 11:06 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,789
Default Re: Windows 11

Anyone have a current PC that is qualified for Windows 11?

I've check all mine and NONE are compatible

Replacing a laptop is one thing, but replacing a workstation is a $5000+ matter

I haven't seen any features in W11 that would be worth the cost.

It's kinda making me seriously consider switching to Mac for a laptop.

I considered a new Mac Pro for a new workstation, but they are using Intel Xeon chips - so a new HP Z series would be cheaper for the same or better components. The Z's are built beautifully. And I just like Windows.

You can check if your PC is Windows 11 compatible here
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/windows-11

Scroll to the bottom and download the PC Health app.

Supposedly, you MAY still be able to install Windows 11 on non-supported systems, but nobody knows for sure right now.

Every system I have checked said the CPU was not supported and can't run Windows 11. That even includes a couple Surface PC's

That's REALLY gonna kill re-sale value on my $2000+ current workstation.

Sure, it's probably time for an upgrade, but the systems runs fine, no problems in Pro Tools or any DAW, and editing 4K footage is pretty smooth.

But it's never fun to have to eat a couple thousand and drop another 5K to stay up to date.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2021, 11:35 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,985
Default Re: Windows 11

What aspects of the Win 11 checker failed? Mine failed Secure Boot and TPM. I was able to enable both in my BIOS and now pass the check..

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools tabbed windows in MacOs - Windows configuration not working hugocentrique macOS 2 05-07-2018 11:57 AM
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 03:40 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 01:46 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 10:01 AM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com