Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2021, 06:55 AM
Lou Ruiz Lou Ruiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Madrid
Posts: 6
Default Phantom Power MboxPro3

Hi, is there any way to harm another mic through the front panel entrance (mic) when activating the phantom Power ?

When doing recordings away from home without using outboard gear I plug in to the Mbox a condenser mic and a Ribbon one.
Not sure if the ribbon is receiving the 48 v as well.



Gracias.
Leo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2021, 07:31 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,596
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

As far as I can remember, the phantom is global for all inputs, not discreete on a channel by channel basis. Which means if you hit it you will fry your ribbon.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2021, 10:13 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,190
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

This? https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...saAgiiEALw_wcB
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2021, 03:12 AM
Lou Ruiz Lou Ruiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Madrid
Posts: 6
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Thanks, something like that I was thinking as well...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2021, 03:22 AM
Lou Ruiz Lou Ruiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Madrid
Posts: 6
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
As far as I can remember, the phantom is global for all inputs, not discreete on a channel by channel basis. Which means if you hit it you will fry your ribbon.
I´ve been lucky then. The royer managed the voltage for a while.
The Specs allows to deal with the voltage but they suggest to avoid it as much as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2021, 08:39 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,319
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

Most modern ribbon mics have a transformer in them and transformers will not pass phantom power. The Phantom Blocker in the link looks like a cool idea(and I'm certain it has a 1:1 transformer inside). FWIW, I hit my Cascade Fathead II ribbon mics with phantom many times with no issues.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2021, 09:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,596
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

Yes, modern ribbons such as Royer 121 has protection. But vintage ribbons will fry.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2021, 09:07 AM
Lou Ruiz Lou Ruiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Madrid
Posts: 6
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Most modern ribbon mics have a transformer in them and transformers will not pass phantom power. The Phantom Blocker in the link looks like a cool idea(and I'm certain it has a 1:1 transformer inside). FWIW, I hit my Cascade Fathead II ribbon mics with phantom many times with no issues.
Good to know. I´ve done a litle research and apparently problems with modern ribbons comes along with pacthbays. Swiching on and off in the panel can cause troubles to the ribbon mic if conected to phantom.
in fact I was connecting the phantom power first and then the cable to the mic and it is safer to do it the other way around.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2021, 09:11 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,596
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

There is also a practically free solution to the phantom power problem. As we all (?) know phantom power is fed between XLR pins 1 and 2, so if you make a custom cable that connects to your ribbon mic with pins 1 and 3 you are safe from phantom power and only downside is you are 180 degrees out of phase (which can be corrected later if necessary). No extra hardware needed, but no balanced connection either.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2021, 09:19 AM
Lou Ruiz Lou Ruiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Madrid
Posts: 6
Default Re: Phantom Power MboxPro3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
There is also a practically free solution to the phantom power problem. As we all (?) know phantom power is fed between XLR pins 1 and 2, so if you make a custom cable that connects to your ribbon mic with pins 1 and 3 you are safe from phantom power and only downside is you are 180 degrees out of phase (which can be corrected later if necessary). No extra hardware needed, but no balanced connection either.

I see what you mean. It´s clever. For this kind of improvised and quick sessions can be an effective solution. Cool...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002R Faults + power harness + no phantom power DaveSB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2009 02:10 AM
recording with phantom power *and* without phantom power simultaneously SweetSoulSound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-22-2008 08:40 PM
Phantom power and mic with power supply? hotstuff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-20-2005 01:56 PM
Phantom power optymusblu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-10-2003 10:19 PM
New to Phantom Power Derek S 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 08-04-2001 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com