Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2003, 01:14 PM
StefB's Avatar
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 525
Default Layback to Sony dsr 85 with machine control

When I use above machine to layback audio in insert edit mode, the timecode output from the sony stops the moment I drop in - causing Protools to stop - any advice?
__________________
Mac 16 Core 7,1 -Os 10.15.7 - 96 gb Ram - Pro Tools 2022.6 Ultimate in 5 suites - MTRX Studio -S6 26-5-D - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 2022.5, AJA Kona 3g) Pro Protools 2022.6 Vanilla in 21 x Recording and Edit suites. Mac 6,1 Mac Mini, Mac Mini M1, Mac Studio Pro, Mac Studio Max
Mediacomposer 2021.12 on AJA Kona 3g / XT I/O x 3 suites. Multiple Avid S1, S3 & Docks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2003, 01:45 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,342
Default Re: Layback to Sony dsr 85 with machine control

Are you sure youre not punching in the time code track????
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2003, 02:32 PM
StefB's Avatar
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 525
Default Re: Layback to Sony dsr 85 with machine control

yep - i have checked!:)
__________________
Mac 16 Core 7,1 -Os 10.15.7 - 96 gb Ram - Pro Tools 2022.6 Ultimate in 5 suites - MTRX Studio -S6 26-5-D - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 2022.5, AJA Kona 3g) Pro Protools 2022.6 Vanilla in 21 x Recording and Edit suites. Mac 6,1 Mac Mini, Mac Mini M1, Mac Studio Pro, Mac Studio Max
Mediacomposer 2021.12 on AJA Kona 3g / XT I/O x 3 suites. Multiple Avid S1, S3 & Docks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2003, 06:51 PM
Helge Krabye Helge Krabye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 211
Default Re: Layback to Sony dsr 85 with machine control

I don't know the exact specs of the sony dsr 85, but I may compare it with Digibeta which I am using in the same way as you are describing. I do layback to Digibeta by choosing the Digibeta as "machine" in the Transport window in ProTools, and arming the Digibeta tracks (5 - 8) from ProTools. I connect the digital out of ProTools-interface to the AES/EBU input on the Digibeta machine. The Digibeta tape I am inserting the audio to, already has TC on it (we always stream the tapes with time code before we start using them), the socalled LTC. This TC track will not be erased when you insert audio, only if you do a crash record. There is also a second time code track on the tape, named VTC, and your problem may be that this is the time code you are using. Try to reconnect and use the LTC timecode output from the Sony dsr 85 and connect that to you sync interface and ProTools when doing the layback, and you should have no problem

Helge K.
__________________
Helge Krabye
Official artist page: Homeless Balloon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2003, 07:36 PM
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: Layback to Sony dsr 85 with machine control

In reference to what Helge mentioned about VITC, I know the Digital Betacam decks have a three position timecode switch (for reading off the tape). One position is VITC, one position is LTC, and the other is Auto. I keep our decks set to LTC all the time, and if the DSR 85 has a similar switch, I'd do the same. The auto position means it automatically reads VITC when parked or playing at a slow speed.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Machine Control setting for Sony XD Cam Eric Seaberg Post - Surround - Video 3 08-19-2011 05:39 PM
Machine Control and Sony IMX MSW-M2000 DarthFader777 Post - Surround - Video 0 11-13-2006 11:24 AM
Machine Control and Sony PCM-7040 kuen00 Post - Surround - Video 2 03-18-2004 05:01 PM
Audio Layback/Machine control problem spigots Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-14-2003 08:09 PM
Machine Control & Sony Digibeta Charouhas Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-21-2002 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com