Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-28-2024, 02:50 PM
tvon tvon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Boston
Posts: 22
Default Re: New Windows computer

So my question is this, i have a Dell optiplex workstation with an Intel Core i5-9500 @ 3.00GHz. Its often freezing when i'm tracking, no real rhyme or reason. Mid guitar take it will just lock up for 3 seconds and continue on. I've done it on sessions with lots of plugins and some with none, it seems to be unaffected. The only factor is the more tracks i have, the more likely it will do it.



So basically, the i9 i posted seems only marginally faster (but with more cores), and that Xeon seems alot faster, (the same # of cores). So i'm trying to figure out what to invest in. I still need to wipe the PC and install everything clean to just make sure all is fine with what i have. But assuming i need to upgrade, i want to keep my eyes on what to upgrade to.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-28-2024, 06:54 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,377
Default Re: New Windows computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvon View Post
So my question is this, i have a Dell optiplex workstation with an Intel Core i5-9500 @ 3.00GHz. Its often freezing when i'm tracking, no real rhyme or reason. Mid guitar take it will just lock up for 3 seconds and continue on. I've done it on sessions with lots of plugins and some with none, it seems to be unaffected. The only factor is the more tracks i have, the more likely it will do it.



So basically, the i9 i posted seems only marginally faster (but with more cores), and that Xeon seems alot faster, (the same # of cores). So i'm trying to figure out what to invest in. I still need to wipe the PC and install everything clean to just make sure all is fine with what i have. But assuming i need to upgrade, i want to keep my eyes on what to upgrade to.
Not really enough info. How much RAM? 32GB would be minimum(for me). Having said that, i9 or Xeon at faster speeds should make a difference, but are you talking about upgrading the cpu in the Dell, or building a new machine? If its just a CPU upgrade, make sure the motherboard can accommodate. By "Mid guitar", did you mean Midi guitar? If yes, what instrument plugin are you using(some chew a lot more system power than others)?
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-28-2024, 10:18 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,705
Default Re: New Windows computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvon View Post
... trying to figure out what to invest in ... what to upgrade to.
i9-14900K build
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-29-2024, 05:52 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,921
Default Re: New Windows computer

Unless you really want a new system, I'd first try a complete clean and reinstall of the OS on your current system. The session locking up or freezing is probably not an issue with the processor speed and is more likely faulty hardware or a bad driver. Could possibly be corrupt software as well. I would pull apart your system, pull the memory, clean all the connectors, reseat. Do the same for drive cables and anything else that could get contaminated. Then completely wipe your drive and reinstall the OS. Update all drivers then install Pro Tools. I would not install any plugins at first. Start small and see if PT runs smoothly. If so, then add plugins one by one and see if it starts freezing again. If not, then something may have been corrupt and you may be good now. If so, you then can narrow it down to which piece of software is causing your issue. If it still locks up with no plugins and a small session, then it could be a hardware issue, in which a new system could help. Just make sure you get a proper power supply and all other hardware and don't just swap the main board.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New computer, Windows 8 CDay63 Windows 9 11-22-2014 07:15 PM
Why use a Windows computer? Jmmergens Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 06-30-2013 07:59 AM
MOVE LE 8.0.3 to a new computer with Windows 7? Tom Kruse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-12-2012 07:43 PM
I have LE 7.3 but new computer with Windows 7 Help plz! Ryan80 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-27-2010 07:01 PM
Install XP on Windows 7 computer damu22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-03-2010 08:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com