Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:07 AM
Ziko Ziko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 223
Default cutting time out of song

Hi there,

I am working on a song and want to chop it up a bit, eg remove 4 bars from the first verse, take 2 bars out of the chorus, that kind of thing.

Firstly, is the best way to make different versions of the song to use playlists? So I would create a playlist for each track called version1, then create a version2 playlist for each track and chop it up using the "cut time" feature.
That way I can go back to the original structure if I and when I need to.

Is there a way to have the song play back with some bars removed in parts without actually cutting them out using the "cut time" feature?

Also, if I make a cut using "cut time", is there a way to have the cut apply to any playlists not currently active as well? So if say I have 3 different bass guitar playlists that are in fact 3 takes and I'd like to cut 4 bars out of the first verse of all tracks and all 3 bass takes at once.

Thanks,

Simon
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz, OSX 10.5.5, PTLE 8 + MPT, 003R Factory, Apogee Mini-Me
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:47 AM
Doogz Doogz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 109
Default Re: cutting time out of song

hey

you can try a few different things:

experiment with the shuffle edit mode - that lets you cut of insert stuff and leave no gaps between what came before and what comes after (no sure if it works over hidden tracks or alternative playlists - I think not!).

highlight the whole session and press Ctl D to duplicate - this makes a copy of yr session to the right . edit this duplication. repeat if you like and then keep the best one.

save yr session with a different name and muck around with each - eg. song 1.0, song 1.1, etc. use the comments section to remind yourself of what you've done.

to be really sure, yuo could "Save Session Copy in" and dick with that. that'll leave yr oroignal session untouched and you can refer/restore back to that whenever you need.

hope this helps

Cheers

Doogz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using different time signatures within the same song David Penick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-12-2009 06:43 PM
Cutting Time question Great Divide Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-23-2008 03:12 PM
Switching Time Signature Mid-song EricFuller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-06-2007 09:03 AM
extra time at the end of your song Badooker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-30-2004 10:59 AM
How do I get rid of extra time at the end of my song Zen685 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-02-2003 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com